Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Sound card switching between outputs?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
deronmoped



Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1073
Location: San Diego


PostLink    Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 8:10 pm    Post subject: Sound card switching between outputs? Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
I have a Hercules Gamesurround Fortissimo II sound card, when I want switch between outputs I have to restart my computer. Is there a way to change this so I do not have to do a restart?

What I would like to be able to do is switch between SPDIF and analog outputs on the fly. This will allow me to hear my DVD's through my stereo (SPDIF) and then listen to stuff off the internet without having to do a restart.

Any suggestions?

Thanks, Deron.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25058
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only thing I can think of is a driver update. My old Sound Blaster use to do this then Creative came out with a driver update that fixed it.
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
deronmoped



Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1073
Location: San Diego


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed the card out to a Turtle Beach one and I do not have to switch anything now, I get sound all the time.

Deron.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25058
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's one way to fix it Very Happy
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum