Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Powerdvd 3516
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lyd



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 390
Location: Pending: Deerfield, WI


PostLink    Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:54 pm    Post subject: Powerdvd 3516 Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Anyone go for this yet?

Downloading now, on the "it can't get any worse" theory.

Of course, I've got the install for 3319a safely tucked away in case of need.

lys
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25418
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using AnyDVD HD? If so the new version of PDVD will not run if it's running on the system.
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
lyd



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 390
Location: Pending: Deerfield, WI


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erk. That'll suck.

I thought this was a new version because it just popped up and previously I had only been prompted to download 3319f. Now I see it has been out for over a month. Weird.

I'll see what it does just for kicks, then remove it and install 3319a again.

I decided to give it a shot because I just put in superbad BD and it kept hanging on the first "loading" screen .

Ah well.

lyd
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25418
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah all this updating is why digital sucks. I wish the high def were analog, like WVHS. Not as fancy but also when was the last time you has to flash/update a VHS machine?
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
lyd



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 390
Location: Pending: Deerfield, WI


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
Are you using AnyDVD HD? If so the new version of PDVD will not run if it's running on the system.


PDVD loaded and ran fine with AnyDVD 6.3.0.3 running. Superbad didn't hang, either.

The lack of playback from the HD is going to piss me off sooner or later, but I think I'll keep running it for now.

lyd
Back to top
MikeEby



Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 5236
Location: Osceola, Indiana


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found this interesting. I replaced the Nvidia card with an ATI 2600Pro on Monday. I didn't want any of the old NVidia driver hanging around so I nuke and paved the Vista. I then loaded Intel chipset, audio & ATI drivers all the latest versions from MSI & ATI. I installed PowerDVD from the disk that came with the drive. When the install was done an app ran that updated the firmware on the drive. I don't recall the first time installing the app upgrading the firmware or maybe I'm just having a brain fart. I don't know if it got the firmware update from the web or the disk.

Mike

_________________
Doing HD since the last century!
Back to top
lyd



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 390
Location: Pending: Deerfield, WI


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MikeEby wrote:
I found this interesting. I replaced the Nvidia card with an ATI 2600Pro on Monday. I didn't want any of the old NVidia driver hanging around so I nuke and paved the Vista. I then loaded Intel chipset, audio & ATI drivers all the latest versions from MSI & ATI. I installed PowerDVD from the disk that came with the drive. When the install was done an app ran that updated the firmware on the drive. I don't recall the first time installing the app upgrading the firmware or maybe I'm just having a brain fart. I don't know if it got the firmware update from the web or the disk.

Mike


Are you sure that the app actually updated anything? I remember that app running after install and connecting to the 'net, but it said it didn't find new firmware.

I can't seem to find the damn thing to run it manually though. Any idea what it's called or where it lives?

lyd
Back to top
MikeEby



Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 5236
Location: Osceola, Indiana


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lyd wrote:


Are you sure that the app actually updated anything? I remember that app running after install and connecting to the 'net, but it said it didn't find new firmware.

I can't seem to find the damn thing to run it manually though. Any idea what it's called or where it lives?

lyd


I know it updated the firmware just don't know if it did the first time I installed then on the reinstall it updated the firmware again with the same verson. I think it puts an app on the tray. I will check and get back with you.

Mike

_________________
Doing HD since the last century!
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25418
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lyd wrote:
AnalogRocks wrote:
Are you using AnyDVD HD? If so the new version of PDVD will not run if it's running on the system.


PDVD loaded and ran fine with AnyDVD 6.3.0.3 running. Superbad didn't hang, either.

The lack of playback from the HD is going to piss me off sooner or later, but I think I'll keep running it for now.

lyd


Hmmm cool. They must have heard people bitching about that and fixed it. Excellent.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25418
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of PowerDVD are you running? 3516a? or 3516f?
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
lyd



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 390
Location: Pending: Deerfield, WI


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
What version of PowerDVD are you running? 3516a? or 3516f?


Are you thinking of 3319a-f? AFAIK, there is only one 3516. In any case, I am running 7.3.3516.0.

lyd
Back to top
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You know, we normally only hear about Netscape complaining about unfair competition from Microsoft and problems claiming IE prevents Netscape from running. No one ever mentions about how two competing DVD player softwares conduct business to prevent the competitors player from working on the consumer's computer.
_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25418
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lyd wrote:
AnalogRocks wrote:
What version of PowerDVD are you running? 3516a? or 3516f?


Are you thinking of 3319a-f? AFAIK, there is only one 3516. In any case, I am running 7.3.3516.0.

lyd


Yep I must have been, because that's the version I spent hours looking for 3319a. So 3615 is working. Interesting.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
lyd



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 390
Location: Pending: Deerfield, WI


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
lyd wrote:
AnalogRocks wrote:
What version of PowerDVD are you running? 3516a? or 3516f?


Are you thinking of 3319a-f? AFAIK, there is only one 3516. In any case, I am running 7.3.3516.0.

lyd


Yep I must have been, because that's the version I spent hours looking for 3319a. So 3615 is working. Interesting.


It definitely does not play from HD though, either file or ISO. That is a real pain. I said above it would probably piss me off sooner or later, and it turned out to be sooner, because now I can't play the HD test patterns I was using. Once the "hey I've got HD movies!" excitement wears down a bit and I stop watching stuff every night, I also want to start time-shifting my netflix rentals, and that's obviously not possible as it stands, either.

Well, at least it is for a good cause. Thanks to these measures, it is completely impossible to copy a Blu-ray or HD-DVD movie, and you won't find torrents of them anywhere on the net.

lyd
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25418
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh but you will find torents of 3319a. That's the last version that would allow you to play hard disk movies.
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
nuttall_chris



Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 832
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still running 3319a with AnyDVD HD 6.3.0.3 I copy everything to my HD before playing and I have yet to come across anything (HDDVD or Bluray) that won't play.

I did try playing Superbad directly from the disk and it does hang at 90% loaded.

Chris
Back to top
View user's photo album (2 photos)
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lyd wrote:
AnalogRocks wrote:
lyd wrote:
AnalogRocks wrote:
What version of PowerDVD are you running? 3516a? or 3516f?


Are you thinking of 3319a-f? AFAIK, there is only one 3516. In any case, I am running 7.3.3516.0.

lyd


Yep I must have been, because that's the version I spent hours looking for 3319a. So 3615 is working. Interesting.


It definitely does not play from HD though, either file or ISO. That is a real pain. I said above it would probably piss me off sooner or later, and it turned out to be sooner, because now I can't play the HD test patterns I was using. Once the "hey I've got HD movies!" excitement wears down a bit and I stop watching stuff every night, I also want to start time-shifting my netflix rentals, and that's obviously not possible as it stands, either.

Well, at least it is for a good cause. Thanks to these measures, it is completely impossible to copy a Blu-ray or HD-DVD movie, and you won't find torrents of them anywhere on the net.

lyd

When playing from the hard drive, is this through an endeavor to read an ISO image file, or Video_ts folder? I had been using something like Daemon Tools to load ISO image files into for regular DVDs, but I have not searched [yet] for something that can load ISO images of HD DVD and or BD images.

_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
lyd



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 390
Location: Pending: Deerfield, WI


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WanMan wrote:
When playing from the hard drive, is this through an endeavor to read an ISO image file, or Video_ts folder? I had been using something like Daemon Tools to load ISO image files into for regular DVDs, but I have not searched [yet] for something that can load ISO images of HD DVD and or BD images.


Either. Both. Neither works anymore with current versions of PDVD. Like chris said, 3319a will do it. I still have my install of 3319a for when I have no option, but I don't really want to have to rip everything I watch.

Daemon Tools will mount isos of BD and HD, so will a number of other popular disc image tools.

I tried running both versions of pDVD at once, by renaming one install dir and then installing a later version, but that didn't work. I know other people are doing it though, so I'll have to check into it further. There must be a trick to it.

I have also seen where people have copied the .exe and a few support files from an older version to a new version and restored the ability to play from file and image, but I'm not sure what other aspects of the upgrades that disables.

I'm really just biding my time until something less broken comes out, or by some freak chance Cyberlink restores file and/or image functionality. I can't imagine paying a hundred bucks for PDVD in that state that it's in.

lyd
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25418
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I DID pay $100 bucks for PDVD download. Back when I wanted to get the Xbox drive going. But yes, as soon as something comes out that just works I'll buy that too.
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
lyd



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 390
Location: Pending: Deerfield, WI


PostLink    Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
I DID pay $100 bucks for PDVD download. Back when I wanted to get the Xbox drive going. But yes, as soon as something comes out that just works I'll buy that too.


I would have paid $100 for it if I hadn't gotten a taste of the OEM version that came with the LG drive first. If not for that it never would have occurred to me that it might be such a disaster. As it is, after fighting with that version first, there was no way I was going to license the full version until/unless I knew it worked in my environment, so I've just made the keygen my friend. Since they took away the play from hard disk functionality, I am definitely not regretting that decision.

I'd be asking for a refund if I were in your shoes right now.

lyd
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum