Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

DFI mobo sound
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joust



Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 2430
Location: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Marquee 8501LC


PostLink    Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:40 pm    Post subject: DFI mobo sound Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Hey Analogrocks,
you're the biggest troll here so you'll see this and this is right up your alley.

I am tryign to get sound out of my HTPC.
using the built in sound card. 5.1 realtek AC97 Audio

I can only get front speakers out of the S/PDIF outputs but no center or rears.

When i try to use the analog outputs I get no fronts but i do get center/rear/and sub.

what gives? any ideas?
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:27 am    Post subject: Re: DFI mobo sound Reply with quote

Joust wrote:
Hey Analogrocks,
you're the biggest troll here so you'll see this and this is right up your alley.

I am tryign to get sound out of my HTPC.
using the built in sound card. 5.1 realtek AC97 Audio

I can only get front speakers out of the S/PDIF outputs but no center or rears.

When i try to use the analog outputs I get no fronts but i do get center/rear/and sub.

what gives? any ideas?


Troll? I hope you mean that in a nice way. AND I'll have you know I dropped 80lbs Mr. Green

What motherboard? Which revision? I'll see if I can Troll, Help, Troll, you Troll, Out.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Joust



Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 2430
Location: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Marquee 8501LC


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah< i meant that in the nicest "Under my bridge" kinda way Smile

its a DFI SLI
generic I guess. I have an Opteron 165 in it.
i just tried a Soundsblaster Live Value which i got to work but that is only 4 channel.
i need at least 5.1
i may just buy one of them X-plosion cards.
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Troll, there must be a Troll, model number, Troll, I can look up. Troll to see what the sound chip is and what type of software they use.Troll

**please read between the Trolls.**

Very Happy

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Joust



Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 2430
Location: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Marquee 8501LC


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh I can tell you that.
its a Realtek ac97, AC655. I have the right driver for sure.
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhh ok then let's troll google and see what we can find ( I am getting so much milage out of this troll )
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Barry did you install your mother board chip set drivers?
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Joust



Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 2430
Location: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Marquee 8501LC


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes.
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
cbe317



Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 214
Location: Thunderbolt, GA


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if i may jump in here, is it a nforce 4 chipset?
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hard to track down what model your using without the model number of the mother board. Have a look here and see if any of these look farmiliar:

http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/product_search_result_us.jsp?CATEGORY_TYPE0B=%25&CATEGORY_NAME0B=Socket+939&SITE=US

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Joust



Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 2430
Location: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Marquee 8501LC


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah its this one.
INF. NF4 SLI
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok letme see what I can troll up.
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Joust



Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 2430
Location: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Marquee 8501LC


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Annie. I appreciate it. I'm at a loss...
reinstalled everythign and get the same behaviour.
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok try de-selecting SPDIF output. That may give you your front channels back.
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Joust



Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 2430
Location: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Marquee 8501LC


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did...no dice.
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
Joust



Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 2430
Location: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Marquee 8501LC


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HEY it works now.
reinstalled the drivers for the third time.
thrid times the charm.

common over for a beer Thumbs Up
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
cbe317



Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 214
Location: Thunderbolt, GA


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

which audio drivers are you using? nvidia or realtek? I had to use the nvidia audio drivers when I was still using the onboard sound. The realtek drivers that came with my an-8SLI would not do 5.1.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was going to sugest deselecting SPDIF and exiting out of your sound drivers. Then selecting and deselecting again. Each time exititng out. I've seen bugs where deselect ends up being select. If you follow.
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kinda beer you brewin' over there? All good stuff?
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Joust



Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 2430
Location: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Marquee 8501LC


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i used the one from the DFI mobo CD.

god i Hate windoze...

i think i'll get another hard drive and build a linux system in this thing.
Its a dual core Opteron and is struggling to play video with windoze.
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum