Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Kim, What About an Analog Blend Box or Two?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Crescendo-Systems Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Person99




Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 4901
Location: Flower Mound, TX


PostLink    Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:12 pm    Post subject: Kim, What About an Analog Blend Box or Two? Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Kim,

OK, this came up awhile ago, but I can't remember where it went. Why can't we do blending in the analog domain? It seems fairly straight forward if we are willing to use PJ controls and waste bandwidth to achieve what we want. Let me see if I can communicate this clearly then you can tell me if it makes sense. Smile

Basically, I'm looking for a box that looks like a simple 1x2 distribution amp; however, we could do the blend boxes as two boxes that sit between a distribution amp and the PJs. To make it simpler, lets say we do that. So, I send a signal to a 1x2 distribution amp. I take those two signals and feed them to a "left" box and a "right" box.

The boxes basically have a preset contrast modulation curve in them. So the left box tapers the contrast in a curve on the right side of the image and the right box tapers the left side. Now, they are both getting the whole picture, but they really only need about 3/4 of the picture. So, we let the modulation start point be adjustable. So, you can adjust the left and right for a perfect blend point.

So, Each PJ is getting the same image--using all the bandwidth for 1920x1080 or 1920x817 (however they user has set it up). This is the downside, since if fact, our little right or left box has modulated the contrast down to nothing, or basically a black pixel for about 1/4 of the picture. So, it would waste bandwidth, but we can use the projector's controls (blanking, H Pos, H Phase) to "get rid" of the part of the picture we are not using.

Am I crazy thinking this is not too hard and not too expensive, or am I smoking crack? When can you have it to me to test? Very Happy

_________________
Dave

A train station is where the train stops. A bus station is where the bus stops. On my desk, I have a work station....
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
beun




Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 676



PostLink    Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dave,

In the end it went nowhere mostly because of feature creep that could only be performed in the digital domain. Your idea is sound and seems technically possible. I am pretty sure that when I start to design numerous technical problems will rear their ugly heads but it sure could be worth a try.


Kim

_________________
ESL-0.5 Full Range Electrostatic Loudspeakers | RTC2200 Component to VGA Converter with Gamma Boost
Back to top
Clarence




Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 3754
Location: Northern Virginia


PostLink    Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Kim, What About an Analog Blend Box or Two? Reply with quote

Person99 wrote:
OK, this came up awhile ago, but I can't remember where it went.


http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=13489#13489
Back to top
Person99




Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 4901
Location: Flower Mound, TX


PostLink    Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Kim, What About an Analog Blend Box or Two? Reply with quote

Clarence wrote:
Person99 wrote:
OK, this came up awhile ago, but I can't remember where it went.


http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=13489#13489


The search master! Thanks. It did got to what Kim said, features which could only be done in the digital domain.

_________________
Dave

A train station is where the train stops. A bus station is where the bus stops. On my desk, I have a work station....
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
Person99




Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 4901
Location: Flower Mound, TX


PostLink    Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beun wrote:
Dave,

In the end it went nowhere mostly because of feature creep that could only be performed in the digital domain. Your idea is sound and seems technically possible. I am pretty sure that when I start to design numerous technical problems will rear their ugly heads but it sure could be worth a try.
Kim


So, what do I have to do to get you thinking about it? Smile

If you had to ballpark it, what would an all in one box (distribution amp with left and right) cost and what would just a right box and a left box cost? Frankly, I think cost is going to be the driver of whether it is worth doing or not (but I'll take a 1 off--Smile).

If you would be willing to entertain it, I could see about borrowing Dan's D50 and I can get my hands on another D50 locally, so I could do some testing. And, I might be able to get two BG 808 machines. Smile

_________________
Dave

A train station is where the train stops. A bus station is where the bus stops. On my desk, I have a work station....
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
beun




Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 676



PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The cost would not be that high, probably not more than a RTC2200 for a 1 in 2 out.


Kim

_________________
ESL-0.5 Full Range Electrostatic Loudspeakers | RTC2200 Component to VGA Converter with Gamma Boost
Back to top
aspec2




Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 549



PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 3:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Kim, What About an Analog Blend Box or Two? Reply with quote

Person99 wrote:
Kim,

Am I crazy thinking this is not too hard and not too expensive, or am I smoking crack? Very Happy


Dave.....can't you do both?

Walt
Back to top
Tom.W




Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 6637



PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 4:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Kim, What About an Analog Blend Box or Two? Reply with quote

aspec2 wrote:
Person99 wrote:
Kim,

Am I crazy thinking this is not too hard and not too expensive, or am I smoking crack? Very Happy


Dave.....can't you do both?

Walt


Dave would end up selling the projector's to cover his habit Wink

Kim I really hope you give this a try !
Back to top
CRT_Ben




Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 1684
Location: Northern Virginia


PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, this is something that I just thought about that may or may not be a problem - even if we use the projector's blanking to cut off the non-active image area, in order to use the phosphor effectively, that blanked area would have to be nearly completely off the side of the tube face. Better of course than displaying active video on the side of the tube, but I'm not sure if there would be any long-term issues of having the beam scanning 20-30% of the picture width on the side of the tube?

I can say though, if you're talking the same price level as the RTC2200 (which I already have - you do fantastic work Kim!!), I would get one just to play with blending with my two Sony 12xx's.
Back to top
beun




Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 676



PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The unused portion of the picture will be black so I don't think there is any danger of lighting up the side of the tube.
_________________
ESL-0.5 Full Range Electrostatic Loudspeakers | RTC2200 Component to VGA Converter with Gamma Boost
Back to top
Zebu Fellenz




Joined: 21 Dec 2006
Posts: 2567



PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kim,

If you could build this blend box and sell it for the price of the kimcoder I'm sure you would have lots of interest.
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
Moose




Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 788
Location: Minnesota


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If you could build this blend box and sell it for the price of the kimcoder I'm sure you would have lots of interest.


I'd say there would be lots of interest even if it cost $500 or so.

_________________
In the real world, I am alan halvorson, King of the Wild Frontier and Swell Guy.
Back to top
Bruce 09




Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 747
Location: Kamloops BC, Canada


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

beun wrote:
Dave,

In the end it went nowhere mostly because of feature creep that could only be performed in the digital domain. Your idea is sound and seems technically possible. I am pretty sure that when I start to design numerous technical problems will rear their ugly heads but it sure could be worth a try.


Kim



I would be willing to send you the blender I have for research or whatever you needed it for.

Bruce
Back to top
Spanky Ham




Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5643
Location: Comedy Central


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, is this dead again?
Back to top
beun




Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 676



PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is not dead but delayed until I can the TC1500 designed finished.
_________________
ESL-0.5 Full Range Electrostatic Loudspeakers | RTC2200 Component to VGA Converter with Gamma Boost
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator



Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 26079
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhh good way to do thing's. One at a time.

I really need to learn how to do that.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
emdawgz1




Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 7949



PostLink    Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moose wrote:
Quote:
If you could build this blend box and sell it for the price of the kimcoder I'm sure you would have lots of interest.


I'd say there would be lots of interest even if it cost $500 or so.


are we talking a blend box like blendzilla????

I'd pay way more than 500.00 clams!

_________________
Follow my blog
www.thesinglebrother.com
Back to top
View user's photo album (3 photos)
Person99




Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 4901
Location: Flower Mound, TX


PostLink    Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emdawgz1 wrote:
Moose wrote:
Quote:
If you could build this blend box and sell it for the price of the kimcoder I'm sure you would have lots of interest.


I'd say there would be lots of interest even if it cost $500 or so.


are we talking a blend box like blendzilla????

I'd pay way more than 500.00 clams!


No, we are talking about a blend box that does the blending in the analog domain (unlike a blendzilla). But, you could accomplish the same thing as you can with the blendzilla.

_________________
Dave

A train station is where the train stops. A bus station is where the bus stops. On my desk, I have a work station....
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
emdawgz1




Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 7949



PostLink    Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Person99 wrote:
emdawgz1 wrote:
Moose wrote:
Quote:
If you could build this blend box and sell it for the price of the kimcoder I'm sure you would have lots of interest.


I'd say there would be lots of interest even if it cost $500 or so.


are we talking a blend box like blendzilla????

I'd pay way more than 500.00 clams!


No, we are talking about a blend box that does the blending in the analog domain (unlike a blendzilla). But, you could accomplish the same thing as you can with the blendzilla.




Ummmmmm, whats the diff??? Neutral

_________________
Follow my blog
www.thesinglebrother.com
Back to top
View user's photo album (3 photos)
tri_joel




Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 646
Location: Northern Virginia


PostLink    Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any updates on this project?
_________________
www.vawinesnob.com
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Crescendo-Systems Products All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum