Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Can't attach pix

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Forum Feedback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Curt Palme
CRT Tech



Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23993
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 5:24 pm    Post subject: Can't attach pix Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Hey Kal, I ran across this last year, and again today. I try to upload a pix from my computer taken from my Iphone. I select the pix, hit 'add attachment', and get the error 'trying up upload empty file'.

Yet, if I 'print screen' and open in Paint, and save that as a jpeg, it uploads fine.

Why won't it upload a .jpeg taken from my phone?

Thanks!
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator



Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16793
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you email me the pic to kal@curtpalme.com? I'll take a look.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
kal
Forum Administrator



Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16793
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What size / resolution was the picture?

I just did a test from my own phone (an iPhone 11)... trying to upload a pic directly and it gives me that error. It was a 2mb file and around 3000x4000 resolution (what phones provide these days) and I then tried a 40K tiny picture and that worked fine.

The "empty pic" message obviously is confusing and incorrect. It should say "file too large" as the limit is 500kb. That coupled with the fact that the forum software is ancient (just like CRTs!) and doesn't do automatic resizing, means you have to resize it first to keep it under 500kb.

There are actually no resolution limits, just file size limits: 500kb.

Or use an external hosting service to not slowly overload our server over time. Wink

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Curt Palme
CRT Tech



Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23993
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, that's more or less what I figured. My Iphone pix are large, several megs, but I thought you posted a while back that there was no limitation on the pix any more. But, the file size explains it. It was the error that was throwing me.

Thanks!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Forum Feedback All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum