Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Getting back into CRT :) Barco 909
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> CRT Projectors
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
km987654



Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 2730
Location: Australia

TV/Projector: Barco BG809s


PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
JayAllan wrote:
Well... I found my DVDO VP50 and my VP30. Found both remotes and both power cords. Neither works. Sad They both power up but the VP30 screen flashes on and off and the VP50 shows "serious Error 16". Ugh.


I guess you know its a serious problem Laughing
Back to top
barclay66



Joined: 27 Jun 2011
Posts: 1241
Location: Germany

TV/Projector: Marquee 9500 Ultra


PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Most problems of the DVDO VP series originate from crappy power supplies. Try to get a replacement with 6V and at least 8A or more...

Kind Regards,
barclay66
Back to top
View user's photo album (25 photos)
crtbilly



Joined: 01 Apr 2015
Posts: 44



PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

barclay66 wrote:
Hi,

Most problems of the DVDO VP series originate from crappy power supplies. Try to get a replacement with 6V and at least 8A or more...

Kind Regards,
barclay66


I can confirm this. I bought a cheap one off eBay for my vp50 and it seems to be holding up.

My vp50 had other problems but I knew that when I bought mine off eBay for $20. When I opened it up it had about 5 tantalum capacitor blown. Replaced and it's been working great.

I also have the latest firmware if interested.
Back to top
ElTopo



Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 1471



PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you checked the 909 with another source already ?
_________________
Barco Cine 9 the one and only
Back to top
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23538
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or, send me both supplies, and I'll rebuild them.
Back to top
JayAllan



Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 173
Location: Los Angeles


PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys! I figured it is likely the power supplies. I actually have 3 here and tried them all but they are all old and off brand. I will try the eBay route first and then if that doesn't work I will send them over to you Curt Smile I haven't tried another source yet ElTopo but I did find my RGB to BNC breakout cable. I am going to hook that up to a PC tonight once I find a long RGB cable to reach.
Back to top
JayAllan



Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 173
Location: Los Angeles


PostLink    Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick update:

I managed to hook this up to my PC with an RGB breakout cable. It looks to be working well! Going to move the projector into place tonight and put on the lenses. HFQ900HM. Just need to figure out the optimal throw distance. Smile



IMG_9184.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  474.13 KB
 Viewed:  809 Time(s)

IMG_9184.JPG


Back to top
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23538
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hell yeah! Very Happy
Back to top
JayAllan



Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 173
Location: Los Angeles


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I moved the projector tonight into position roughly. I put the lenses on and powered it up.
I noticed right away looking at the tubes that the image is going outside the raster on at least one side (which if I recall is bad!)
So... I shut it down for now. Since I have never owned a Barco and it has been 6 years since I have setup a CRT,
I am going to have to dig in the manual to see how to shrink and move over the raster.
I am feeding it 1600x900 since that is the max my video card will apparently go through the RGB port.
Back to top
ElTopo



Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 1471



PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

please be sure to center the image on the tubes.

Mostly if you center green (Raster Shift option "coarse" of "fine") the other two colors get touched also and should be centered. If not you can do raster shift on each color.

You can also use the Geometry option to shrink vertical and horizontal.




ElTopo

_________________
Barco Cine 9 the one and only
Back to top
JayAllan



Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 173
Location: Los Angeles


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks ElTopo. Yes, I am not at all familiar with the Barco menus yet so I am reading up on them now so I can go in quick and shrink them down without the tubes on for long. That will be the first thing I do before working on focus.
Back to top
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23538
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The other 6 splitpacks are here. Brought one across the border this AM, will set it up this weekend. Lots of interest with these units..
Back to top
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23538
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, and do a 'set to midposition, all' in the service menu, under the memory page. The keystone and everything else will be a mile off on these sets given the installation. No problem running to the edge of the tubes, but turn the contrast way down, to 10 or so, and you won't implode tubes.
Back to top
JayAllan



Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 173
Location: Los Angeles


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curt Palme wrote:
The other 6 splitpacks are here. Brought one across the border this AM, will set it up this weekend. Lots of interest with these units..


Awesome! I was going to ask you about that Smile I love the design of these units.
Back to top
JayAllan



Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 173
Location: Los Angeles


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curt Palme wrote:
Oh, and do a 'set to midposition, all' in the service menu, under the memory page. The keystone and everything else will be a mile off on these sets given the installation. No problem running to the edge of the tubes, but turn the contrast way down, to 10 or so, and you won't implode tubes.


Ok good to know. I was hoping there was some sort of "revert to factory" type setting. Its hard to even read the on screen menus at this point. I have NO IDEA how to set these up lol. I am having to re-educate myself on CRTs. It's been a while!
Back to top
ElTopo



Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 1471



PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1st = mechanichal focus on the lens
2nd = focusing inside the menu

After that reading should be no problem anymore Wink

_________________
Barco Cine 9 the one and only
Back to top
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23538
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aww, do I have to make another drive down? Very Happy
Back to top
HaydnG90



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 963



PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whats the fan noise like vs a standard 909?
Back to top
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23538
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same amount of fans, but since you can place the electronics with the fans up to 2m away, it should be less noisy.
Back to top
JayAllan



Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 173
Location: Los Angeles


PostLink    Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curt Palme wrote:
Aww, do I have to make another drive down? Very Happy


Not until I am ready to set up the stack! Wink Very Happy
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> CRT Projectors All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum