Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Newbie interested in CRT projectors

Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> CRT Projectors
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jrodefeld

PostLink    Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:43 am    Post subject: Newbie interested in CRT projectors Reply with quote

Register to remove this ad. It's free!
I'm a complete newbie at home theater stuff, and I've never owned a projector of any kind.

However, I've recently developed an appreciation for CRT technology. I'm actually currently using a Sony GDM-FW900 monitor on my computer and I prefer it to any LCD I've ever used. There are just certain things that CRT does that newer technologies can't quite match.

I've kinda had an idea of one day building a dedicated home theater room with a projector. I've recently been seeing Sony G90 projectors showing up in my area for reasonable prices (under $1000) and I'm wondering whether to grab one at some point.

So, speaking to me like I'm a total idiot, could someone explain to me exactly what I'd need to set up a home theater room with a G90 projector? Specifically, I'm talking about what hardware I'd need to buy not how to install it all or calibrate it (I'll figure that out later).

1. What type of screen should I use?