Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

runco projector

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Digital Projectors
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
2manytvs



Joined: 29 Apr 2012
Posts: 49
Location: Landbeyondthetube


PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:33 pm    Post subject: runco projector Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Hi,
Came across a Runco cp610lt at a thrift for 100 bucks but no remote. It does nothing without remote,
can't verify it works.
Does it seem worth the chance and are remotes easily and resonably obtained.
Thanks 4 any ops.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25338
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A quick search didn't show me what model projector is under that Runco case. Ge your googling gun going and see if you can find out what projector that was based on then likely the OEM remote will power that up.

Do be ware, in my searching I saw people that had issues with failed color wheels and bad capacitors in that model. So don't spend too much on a remote just in case.

Also does it have an RS-232 port on it? If so you may be able to power it up that way.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
2manytvs



Joined: 29 Apr 2012
Posts: 49
Location: Landbeyondthetube


PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:54 pm    Post subject: rs 232 Reply with quote

Thanks,
How would I use the rs232, would it need a proprietary program to access unit?

_________________
Macht Nichts!
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25338
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:56 pm    Post subject: Re: rs 232 Reply with quote

2manytvs wrote:
Thanks,
How would I use the rs232, would it need a proprietary program to access unit?


There's usually a set of command codes listed in the installers manual. You can generally control a projector from a terminal program by selecting the COM (RS-232 )port and sending the correct string.

See if you can find the manuals for that projector online and find the command codes.

EDIT: forgot to add you usually need an RS-232 cross over cable where RX and TX are wired to each other. Also known as a NULL modem cable.

A strait through cable wont work because the receive RX and the transmit TX would be wired together. That;s like 2 phones trying to communicate with the mics wired together and the ear pieces wired together it won't work.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23641
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this is a set made before Planar bought them. There's very little support for it out there. I've got a VX5 in the same condition, can't find the remote, and the set is useless without it.
Back to top
2manytvs



Joined: 29 Apr 2012
Posts: 49
Location: Landbeyondthetube


PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update:
It was gone when I went back.
Someone either knew what to do or are in for a disappointment.
Thanks for info!

_________________
Macht Nichts!
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25338
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whew!! You ARE lucky aren't you? Wink
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Jeremy112



Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 2643
Location: Fond du Lac, WI


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The CP610 is a native 720p DLP HD Projector, probably throws a pretty good image (for $100? Can't really go wrong if it worked!) I have a VX-5000D That also requires the remote, luckily I have it (as clunky and difficult as it likes to be) to operate the PJ
_________________
When I'm asking for a Model number, that doesn't mean I'm asking for a nude photo with your number on it Wink
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Digital Projectors All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum