Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Any Linux guys here? Ubuntu Kodi install issues
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24711
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 8:04 pm    Post subject: Any Linux guys here? Ubuntu Kodi install issues Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Hey guys just putting this here for my reference, if you have any ideas please share.

Trying a Kodi install in both Ubuntu 14.04 AMD64 and i386, also Ubuntu 15.10 AMD64 using the following commands from the terminal:
--------------
"Use the command line terminal and enter the following commands. Follow the prompts as you would any other software installation.


sudo apt-get install software-properties-common
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:team-xbmc/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install kodi
"

I get this error message in the Terminal:

"Some packages could not be installed.

This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.


The following information may help to resolve the situation:


The following packages have unmet dependencies:
kodi :

Depends: kodi-bin (>= 2:15.2~git20151019.1039-final-0trusty) but it is not going to be installed

Depends: kodi-bin (< 2:15.2~git20151019.1039-final-0trusty.1~) but it is not going to be installed

Depends: mesa-utils but it is not installable

Depends: python-bluez but it is not installable or
python-lightblue but it is not installable

Depends: libmad0 but it is not installable

Depends: libass5 but it is not installable or
libass4 but it is not installable

Depends: libbluray1 but it is not installable

Depends: libaacs0 but it is not installable

Depends: libcec3 but it is not going to be installed

Depends: python-support (>= 0.90.0) but it is not installable

Recommends: libvdpau1 but it is not going to be installed

Recommends: libva-intel-vaapi-driver but it is not installable

Recommends: libva1 but it is not installable
E:
Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages."


I've tested this on the following PC's.
HP2700 laptop, 1.8 dual core 2GB RAM.
Samsung Quad core 1.4, 4GB RAM
Zotac ZBOX Dual core 1.8, 2GB RAM

Booting LIVE session with all.

I CAN install KODI on Ubuntu Studio 14.4.2 LTS 32 bit from May 2015 using the 3 commands from the command line above.
Tested in HP DV2700 laptop A.O.K.
-----

Thoughts?

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Spanky Ham



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5590
Location: Comedy Central


PostLink    Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried installing it on LTR about six months ago and had an issue. I didn't try to solve the problem. I just got a SD Homerun, so I am going to get back to this.
Back to top
spoot



Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 17



PostLink    Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is probably way too late for anyone to care. Smile

Anyways, it looks like you don't have the "non-free" repos enabled. This will generally include binary blobs or say dvd/bluray DRM breaking code.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24711
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot I posted this. Got it all up and running. Can't remember how though haha
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Spanky Ham



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5590
Location: Comedy Central


PostLink    Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am playing with Kodi on Win 10 right now. Trying to get it to work with the SD Homerun to do PVR has been a pain. I need Crabb to slap me and tell me to buy a STB. Smile
Back to top
jask



Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 8054
Location: kamloops BC


PostLink    Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so if you have Kodi the tvaddons.org fusion installer wizard should allow you to populate and configure your install. after that go to videos open one of the sources type in a public domain movie and after the sources pop up pick one.. and watch.
be careful some people are watching pirates, and TV, and movies on Kodi.

and pirates are bad bad people.
Back to top
View user's photo album (4 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24711
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spanky Ham wrote:
I am playing with Kodi on Win 10 right now. Trying to get it to work with the SD Homerun to do PVR has been a pain. I need Crabb to slap me and tell me to buy a STB. Smile


Win10?! People actually use that?

Wink

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24711
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jask wrote:
so if you have Kodi the tvaddons.org fusion installer wizard should allow you to populate and configure your install. after that go to videos open one of the sources type in a public domain movie and after the sources pop up pick one.. and watch.
be careful some people are watching pirates, and TV, and movies on Kodi.

and pirates are bad bad people.


I use Kodi as a front end for my WinXP PVR system that runs BeyondTV and records my TV OTA ATSC.

KODI is running on a dual core 1.8 2GB Mini PC running OpenElec. Less than 400mb install. Works pretty good.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Spanky Ham



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5590
Location: Comedy Central


PostLink    Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
Spanky Ham wrote:
I am playing with Kodi on Win 10 right now. Trying to get it to work with the SD Homerun to do PVR has been a pain. I need Crabb to slap me and tell me to buy a STB. Smile


Win10?! People actually use that?

Wink


I upgraded my father's old desktop computer to Win10, because he had so much crap ware on it that it was upgrade or go linux.


Honestly, I didn't upgrade it. I put a new HD into the computer. I did the same thing with three old laptops. The laptops were bought without HDs and OSes. Microsoft was so desperate to get people to move to Win10 that they were lax on the upgrade policy. Fortunately all of my computers have the sticker with the code on them. I downloaded Win10 and have it installed on a USB drive. I now have fresh Win10 installs on all of the computers. Also, MS didn't lock down the upgrade at the end of July. My last install was two weeks ago.

As you know, a computer is worth more with Windows installed. I will probably sell two of these laptops. Personally, Win10 isn't that bad, but I only use it when or if I have to. Ubuntu does what I need and for me much much better than Windows.
Back to top
Spanky Ham



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5590
Location: Comedy Central


PostLink    Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
jask wrote:
so if you have Kodi the tvaddons.org fusion installer wizard should allow you to populate and configure your install. after that go to videos open one of the sources type in a public domain movie and after the sources pop up pick one.. and watch.
be careful some people are watching pirates, and TV, and movies on Kodi.

and pirates are bad bad people.


I use Kodi as a front end for my WinXP PVR system that runs BeyondTV and records my TV OTA ATSC.

KODI is running on a dual core 1.8 2GB Mini PC running OpenElec. Less than 400mb install. Works pretty good.


What tuner are you using? Today I noticed that the SD seemed to have worse reception than my old TVwonder.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24711
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spanky Ham wrote:
AnalogRocks wrote:
jask wrote:
so if you have Kodi the tvaddons.org fusion installer wizard should allow you to populate and configure your install. after that go to videos open one of the sources type in a public domain movie and after the sources pop up pick one.. and watch.
be careful some people are watching pirates, and TV, and movies on Kodi.

and pirates are bad bad people.


I use Kodi as a front end for my WinXP PVR system that runs BeyondTV and records my TV OTA ATSC.

KODI is running on a dual core 1.8 2GB Mini PC running OpenElec. Less than 400mb install. Works pretty good.


What tuner are you using? Today I noticed that the SD seemed to have worse reception than my old TVwonder.


Hauppauge 1600 and 1800

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24711
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spanky Ham wrote:


As you know, a computer is worth more with Windows installed. I will probably sell two of these laptops. Personally, Win10 isn't that bad, but I only use it when or if I have to. Ubuntu does what I need and for me much much better than Windows.


I was looking for a laptop this past summer. I found one I told the guy I'd take it provided it hadn't been downgraded to windoze 10. He got mad and wouldn't sell it to me Laughing LOL

I was running Ubuntu but I don't like their Microsoftesque data collection policy so I switched to Mint and UbuntuStudio. I like both. My new PC will have good 'ol Windows 7 and Mint 18.1 <--(not sure which desktop yet though.) My PVR will continue to use XP because it just works. ( Aint broke )

KODI on openelec.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Spanky Ham



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5590
Location: Comedy Central


PostLink    Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am looking at the Hauppauges right now. Do they work well with Linux? The quad tuner looks interesting along with the dual tuner USB. If their software can give me what I want then I may give it a go. I want to be able to watch two channels with a buffer for both channels. My old Tivo gave me 30 minutes buffer for each tuner. The ChannelMaster DVR+ has two hours of buffer.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24711
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In linux I guess you could look at Mythbuntu? I'm not sure.
As I said mine work well on XP and it ain't broke so...

Keep in mind I'm running this on a 2006-8 PC so new stuff should work faster.

I did play with Mythbuntu for a weekend once. The thing that struck me was the fact it found my HDhomerun on the network with no problems. Very cool. As I said before though I ended up on Ubuntu then Mint. So Mythbuntu fell by the way side.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Spanky Ham



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5590
Location: Comedy Central


PostLink    Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you find the reception with the SD better or worse than the Haupp?
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24711
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't do an A/B comparison but I do remember there was a channel missing on the HDhomerun that was there on the Hauppauge.
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Spanky Ham



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5590
Location: Comedy Central


PostLink    Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the signal tester. The signal strength is great on all my channels. The signal quality was poor on two channels. I will have to play with it some more, but without the functionality that I described above I won't make it the hub of my HTPC. SD is making a DVR program, but they want $60 for it.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24711
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spanky Ham wrote:
I found the signal tester. The signal strength is great on all my channels. The signal quality was poor on two channels. I will have to play with it some more, but without the functionality that I described above I won't make it the hub of my HTPC. SD is making a DVR program, but they want $60 for it.

KODI has a plug in for HD Homerun ( for the newer models ) KODI also has PVR functionality. I haven't used it though.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Spanky Ham



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5590
Location: Comedy Central


PostLink    Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been using it and I am unimpressed. The PVR has been buggy for me.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24711
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spanky Ham wrote:
I have been using it and I am unimpressed. The PVR has been buggy for me.


How so? Also is there a TV Guide?

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum