Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Panasonic 3DO FZ1 Motherboard Failure

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Source Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
UncleWill




Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 400
Location: WashDC area, ViennaVA


PostLink    Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 11:26 pm    Post subject: Panasonic 3DO FZ1 Motherboard Failure Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
So, I should have posted on here WAY before doing anything. 20/20 hindsight now...

My beloved FZ1 developed a problems where it would boot up and emit a harsh wining sound. Terrible thing to hear. Anyways, that was all it would do. Sometimes the 3DO logo would come up, other times nothing. After reading on the web, the capacitors seemed to be the most likely problem. Immediately I set to work and bought replacement caps from RadioShack. After trying to place a couple in, I realized it was a much larger job and needed an expert. We took it to a repair shop with instructions on how to replace everything.

Unfortunately, the repairs did not work. Now there is no noise on the boot but no logo either. Not sure what to do.

Any ideas??? This is my favorite system and I really want it to work Crying or Very sad

I was thinking of putting the motherboard in the dishwasher in case the board was a victim of leaky caps. (I did this with a Macintosh Classic and it worked before).

Anyone on here specialize with fixing these? Anyone willing to take a look at it? Maybe somebody has a spare 3DO with a bad CD drive??? Mine still worked around the time of the failure.
Back to top
View user's photo album (21 photos)
UncleWill




Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 400
Location: WashDC area, ViennaVA


PostLink    Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Really? Not a single response?
Back to top
View user's photo album (21 photos)
winny




Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 401
Location: Sweden

TV/Projector: BD808s, BG1209/2


PostLink    Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a multimeter?
Photo of the board?

_________________
Melifluonze wrote:
Digital is easy. This is torture, but far more interesting...
Back to top
UncleWill




Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 400
Location: WashDC area, ViennaVA


PostLink    Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can get photos.

Yes, I have a multimeter. Not sure if it was designed for measuring capacitors.
Back to top
View user's photo album (21 photos)
winny




Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 401
Location: Sweden

TV/Projector: BD808s, BG1209/2


PostLink    Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No need. You will however need the diode-function for proper troubleshooting.
_________________
Melifluonze wrote:
Digital is easy. This is torture, but far more interesting...
Back to top
UncleWill




Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 400
Location: WashDC area, ViennaVA


PostLink    Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, will restart this conversation once I get back from my business trip. Stay tuned..
Back to top
View user's photo album (21 photos)
CasetheCorvetteman




Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 6319
Location: Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will, what was the result of this mate???

I too am a 3DO fan ( but I have almost every console, they all had some great games ), as is another forum member Aussie_Al, he has an FZ-1 and an FZ-10E, I have two FZ-10 consoles, one doesn't work due to dead power supply that killed the mobo, and the other is still new in box.

You can find them on ebay!!

What games do you play on yours? We were usually playing Need for Speed, Road Rash, and Twisted game show. I don't think we played much else. I played a fair bit of Mad Dog 2 and Crime Patrol 1 and 2, I have two new in the box guns I opened up last year.

Twisted is an awesome party game!!

Return Fire is another awesome game!!

_________________
Barco CineMAX, 120" OZ Theatre Majestic 16:9 screen, H/K AVR 7.1...

RUNCO DTV991 LC ( NEC XG 852 LC ) 100" 4:3 screen, H/K AVR 5.1...
Back to top
UncleWill




Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 400
Location: WashDC area, ViennaVA


PostLink    Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, totally forgot about this posting. Excuse the slow response:

I haven't done a single thing on this since listing. Really need to crack it out again. It is sitting in a box behind me. I certainly have the time. Will get to it very soon.

Gamewise I was just getting into the console before it died. Favorites included Night Trap, Road Rash, Need for Speed, a couple fighting games, and a few others. I made a whole binder full of them. The FMV ones are really bad, but funny as anything. It's like playing your own B-Movie!

The problem with the 3DO is the SLOW drive. It kills certain games. But when the 3DO shines, it does so very very brightly...
Back to top
View user's photo album (21 photos)
UncleWill




Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 400
Location: WashDC area, ViennaVA


PostLink    Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very very bright!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5j0ORcH-CV0
Back to top
View user's photo album (21 photos)
CasetheCorvetteman




Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 6319
Location: Australia


PostLink    Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The FZ-10 is quite fast to load.

I remember Road Rash and Need For Speed blew me away for their time. The full motion video shooters by American Laser Games were actually really good.

_________________
Barco CineMAX, 120" OZ Theatre Majestic 16:9 screen, H/K AVR 7.1...

RUNCO DTV991 LC ( NEC XG 852 LC ) 100" 4:3 screen, H/K AVR 5.1...
Back to top
UncleWill




Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 400
Location: WashDC area, ViennaVA


PostLink    Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Resurrecting this thread. I tried to get my 3DO repaired with new capacitors a while back. I think a ROM board may have gotten bumped or fried. The boot screen does not even come up now. sh*t. Wish I understood this stuff better.

I just recently put in a low bid for another FZ1 with a bad drive. If the gamble works, I should be able to make ONE working console. If I get outbid, , I'll just purchase a confirmed working drive, and then get all preventative mods done ASAP.
Back to top
View user's photo album (21 photos)
jsmith967




Joined: 31 Oct 2015
Posts: 1



PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2015 7:45 pm    Post subject: Thanks! Reply with quote

This thread is helpful, thanks for the explanation.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Source Devices All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum