Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!


Barco ROM files, control and RWI

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> CRT Projectors
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
winny



Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 401
Location: Sweden

TV/Projector: BD808s, BG1209/2


PostLink    Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 1:03 pm    Post subject: Barco ROM files, control and RWI Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Last week at work which means last week with access to EPROM programmer. I will read out every Barco ROM I have and post them in in case anyone needs it. I'm still looking for CTRL D808s 7.4 or 7.41 though.



Control G808S V7.22.zip
 Description:
Control G808S V7.22

Download
 Filename:  Control G808S V7.22.zip
 Filesize:  311.87 KB
 Downloaded:  103 Time(s)


Control D808 V6.41.zip
 Description:
Control D808 V6.41

Download
 Filename:  Control D808 V6.41.zip
 Filesize:  281.99 KB
 Downloaded:  102 Time(s)


Control G808S V7.41.zip
 Description:
Control G808S V7.41

Download
 Filename:  Control G808S V7.41.zip
 Filesize:  338.71 KB
 Downloaded:  102 Time(s)


Control G808S V7.33 BWS.zip
 Description:
Control G808S V7.33 BWS

Download
 Filename:  Control G808S V7.33 BWS.zip
 Filesize:  339.66 KB
 Downloaded:  100 Time(s)


RWI508.zip
 Description:
RWI 5.08

Download
 Filename:  RWI508.zip
 Filesize:  96.95 KB
 Downloaded:  104 Time(s)


RWI510.zip
 Description:
RWI 5.10

Download
 Filename:  RWI510.zip
 Filesize:  8.08 KB
 Downloaded:  95 Time(s)


_________________
Melifluonze wrote:
Digital is easy. This is torture, but far more interesting...
Back to top
winny



Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 401
Location: Sweden

TV/Projector: BD808s, BG1209/2


PostLink    Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Last ones.


Control D808s V7.20.zip
 Description:
Control data 808s 7.20

Download
 Filename:  Control D808s V7.20.zip
 Filesize:  270.23 KB
 Downloaded:  94 Time(s)


Alternate RWI V5.08.zip
 Description:
RWI 5.08, alternate version just in case

Download
 Filename:  Alternate RWI V5.08.zip
 Filesize:  96.53 KB
 Downloaded:  98 Time(s)


_________________
Melifluonze wrote:
Digital is easy. This is torture, but far more interesting...
Back to top
winny



Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 401
Location: Sweden

TV/Projector: BD808s, BG1209/2


PostLink    Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got the programmer as a goodbye gift. Managed to get it working at home under FreeDOS after some tweaking.

By popular demand, Graphics 1209/2 V7.20 ROM.



BG12092V720.zip
 Description:
Graphics 1290/2 V7.20 ROM

Download
 Filename:  BG12092V720.zip
 Filesize:  22.83 KB
 Downloaded:  104 Time(s)


_________________
Melifluonze wrote:
Digital is easy. This is torture, but far more interesting...
Back to top
Pokemon640



Joined: 28 Jul 2015
Posts: 47
Location: Greece


PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got SEOS prodas Graphics 1209 v7.05
The unit is 1209s by the outside label and cards inside
It has LUG03 Tubes installed, and greg's HDMI/DVI card on port 3

looking to flash with Barco Graphics 1209s ROM and switch my cards from SEOS to barco.
I Got some error messages after i press exit from menu, but all my cards are working fine. I think i got an incorrect rom installed.
Back to top
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23750
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm just curious why anyone would try and change the firmware in their Barco? I know a lot of people have asked for it in the past, but with my own experimentation, there are hardware changes usually to go along with the firmware changes (like the H lin adjustment), so swapping firmware won't give you that feature.

Also, if you swap firmware with something as simple as a Data 1209s and a Graphics 1209s, the projector won't even turn on properly.

Just my $.02.
Back to top
Pokemon640



Joined: 28 Jul 2015
Posts: 47
Location: Greece


PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have some issues with H-Size, it didn't fit in all phosphor area, i have set to 100%.
i will try to replace convergence board, to find out if the error msg stop (3AH,B8H,86H).
Back to top
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23750
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So turn up the master H width pot on the SMPS.

Barco used different convergence board layouts, but didn't change the board number. Usually it means that the firmware is looking for some adjustment chip that hasn't been installed in the firmware. The service manuals have the layout of the convergence error codes, and what they relate to.
Back to top
Pokemon640



Joined: 28 Jul 2015
Posts: 47
Location: Greece


PostLink    Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curt Palme wrote:
So turn up the master H width pot on the SMPS.

Barco used different convergence board layouts, but didn't change the board number. Usually it means that the firmware is looking for some adjustment chip that hasn't been installed in the firmware. The service manuals have the layout of the convergence error codes, and what they relate to.
i have change convergence board with a newer one with more ICs, errors gone, except one BAH error that didn't bother me.
H width pot on SMPS helps a little bit,
Does the deflection switching board with image width coils helps ?
Back to top
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23750
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

usually not. You may have a had H board or a bad SMPS if you can't get the width to maximum. I've had both do it. I have spares here at $20 each plus shipping
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15872
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curt Palme wrote:
I'm just curious why anyone would try and change the firmware in their Barco? I know a lot of people have asked for it in the past, but with my own experimentation, there are hardware changes usually to go along with the firmware changes (like the H lin adjustment), so swapping firmware won't give you that feature.

+1. Firmware was usually matched with whatever hardware is installed. It's not like today where there are constant updates to software and people always want the latest and greatest. With Barcos what you had in terms of firmware was what you needed, unless you changed hardware completely.

I don't remember Barco ever making any software 'fixes' to their firmware. There was also no way for users to change firmware anyway.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23750
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

100% agree. Barco seemed to get things right the first time (well, except for their later quadruplers), there was minimal 'patching' to their circuits, unlike Electrohome and Ampro, both of which were pretty bad offenders. (remember the mods to early ECP3000/4000 sets?)
Back to top
Pokemon640



Joined: 28 Jul 2015
Posts: 47
Location: Greece


PostLink    Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curt Palme wrote:
usually not. You may have a had H board or a bad SMPS if you can't get the width to maximum. I've had both do it. I have spares here at $20 each plus shipping
maybe bad SMPS, i will try another one.
ok, i will send email for some spares, i have 2-3 H-boards to repair Razz
Back to top
km987654



Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 2771
Location: Australia

TV/Projector: Barco BG809s


PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curt Palme wrote:
I'm just curious why anyone would try and change the firmware in their Barco? I know a lot of people have asked for it in the past, but with my own experimentation, there are hardware changes usually to go along with the firmware changes (like the H lin adjustment), so swapping firmware won't give you that feature.

Also, if you swap firmware with something as simple as a Data 1209s and a Graphics 1209s, the projector won't even turn on properly.

Just my $.02.


I have changed Firmware in the 808s series many times and as long as you support the change with the right RWI chip all is good. You are right though you really only need change Firmware to reflect any new hardware that you want to use so you don't usually get any new functionality with a change in Firmware without corresponding hardware. The exception to this is IRIS which went from version 2 to version 3 with no new hardware and a memory bank system that didn't require new hardware.
Back to top
robin36mac



Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 33



PostLink    Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I may reply lately, but I do have a D808S v7.41 firmware on one of my 808s.
Here is the file I just extracted from the EPROM, attached.
It comes with RWI 5.10.

Robin



D808S_CTRL_V741.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  D808S_CTRL_V741.zip
 Filesize:  164.1 KB
 Downloaded:  56 Time(s)

Back to top
Francisco



Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 301
Location: The Netherlands


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I once had a faulty "blanc" 909 seos prodas mainboard from a splitpack. After we fixt some hardware issues, we noticed that there was no firmware on it at all. We reprogrammed it with cine9 software and it worked flawlessly with fans running at lower speed in a 909 chassis (with the additional fans boards). Sometimes it can come in handy. We never managed to get seos prodas software (classified by Rockwell Collins) also never tried to get it out.
_________________
Philips vacuum cleaner | Trystar double toaster | Car radio with orange plastic memory arrows | Class A Fridge
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> CRT Projectors All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum