Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!


Will this configuration work?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> 3D Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bill Roberts



Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 4



PostLink    Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:49 am    Post subject: Will this configuration work? Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
I am considering purchasing the 3D-Theatre PLUS. Does anyone have experience to know if this configuration will work?

PS3 >> Denon AVR-4308CI >> 3D-Theatre PLUS >> Mitsubishi HC7000

I also have

Tivo >> AVR >> VIP >> HC7000 in mind.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16037
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Bill,

Your Mitsubishi HC7000 has an HDMI input and supports both 720p and 1080p so it'll work. One thing I couldn't confirm is whether you'll be able to run 720p/72Hz or 720p/96Hz. The manual does list some refresh rates up to 85Hz in some of the resolutions it supports from a PC but that doesn't mean it won't work higher/lower. I found the projector manual is here: http://www.projectorcentral.com/pdf/projector_manual_4490.pdf

Some Tivo models support 3D, some do not. So whether you can watch 3D Tivo content depends on your model of Tivo you have. See here: http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2424

If interested you may order your 3D-Theatre PLUS here: http://www.curtpalme.com/3DTheatrePlus.shtm
I'd recommend the RF glasses as well if you do not have any.
Free worldwide shipping with tracking is included.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Bill Roberts



Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 4



PostLink    Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Going to give it a try. I'll keep the forum posted on my results.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16037
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please do Bill! And thank you for your order (just saw it come through) - it's appreciated! This'll ship within 1-3 business days and then typically takes takes 4-6 business days once shipped to any part of the USA. A tracking number will be supplied once it ships.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Jorrel



Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 18
Location: Sydney


PostLink    Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kal I bought the displayer unit 2 years ago, I want to buy the theatre plus unit will the emitter which I have connected on my displayer unit work for this unit.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16037
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jorrel wrote:
Kal I bought the displayer unit 2 years ago, I want to buy the theatre plus unit will the emitter which I have connected on my displayer unit work for this unit.


Yes. All of the 3D boxes have the same 3-pin DIN connector for the emitter.

The Theater PLUS is here: http://www.curtpalme.com/3DTheatrePlus.shtm

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Bill Roberts



Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 4



PostLink    Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was unable to connect in the recommended order:

PS3 >> Denon AVR-4308CI >> 3D-Theatre PLUS >> Mitsubishi HC7000

because the AVR-4308CI does not support 3D pass-through.

I connected it as:

PS3 >> 3D-Theatre PLUS >> Denon AVR-4308CI >> Mitsubishi HC7000 instead since the AVR-4308CI is the audio controller for the 7.1 speaker system. This means I can't use the TiVo as a 3D input but it doesn't actually provide anything I can't get through the PS3 other than a broadcast antenna connection.

I am getting satisfactory 3D with some minor artifacts using a 3 blue, 1 red setting on the emitter. The projector isn't using the 120 vertical synch rate, so brightness becomes an issue with any higher red settings (they clean up the 3D quite a bit).

All in all, I am satisfied for now, but I see the necessity of 3D pass-through in a couple of years when I was anticipating getting a new receiver.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16037
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the post Bill. If you do want to add more 3D sources, consider using an inexpensive ($20) HDMI 1.4 switcher from Monoprice along with an HDMI splitter to go to the receiver & display.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Jorrel



Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 18
Location: Sydney


PostLink    Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kal wrote:
Jorrel wrote:
Kal I bought the displayer unit 2 years ago, I want to buy the theatre plus unit will the emitter which I have connected on my displayer unit work for this unit.


Yes. All of the 3D boxes have the same 3-pin DIN connector for the emitter.

The Theater PLUS is here: http://www.curtpalme.com/3DTheatrePlus.shtm

Kal


Can i buy it from consignia they have a special on the unit....
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16037
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jorrel,

We have the same deal since Consignia actually ships for us. See here: http://www.curtpalme.com/3DTheatrePlus.shtm
We appreciate your support! If you see a better deal, let us know!

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Jorrel



Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 18
Location: Sydney


PostLink    Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kal wrote:
Hi Jorrel,

We have the same deal since Consignia actually ships for us. See here: http://www.curtpalme.com/3DTheatrePlus.shtm
We appreciate your support! If you see a better deal, let us know!

Kal



Hi Kal I just placed my order via Pay Pal...The payment goes to consignia..
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16037
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your order - it's appreciated! The payment does indeed go to Consignia but we do get a small percentage here at CurtPalme.com at the end of the month at no additional cost to you (we work with them closely). It's what keeps our website running.

Most of our 3D products ship within 1-3 business days. Our free shipping does not include tracking but it usually takes about 10-14 business days on average to reach anywhere in the world.

Cheers!

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Jorrel



Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 18
Location: Sydney


PostLink    Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kal wrote:
Thank you for your order - it's appreciated! The payment does indeed go to Consignia but we do get a small percentage here at CurtPalme.com at the end of the month at no additional cost to you (we work with them closely). It's what keeps our website running.

Most of our 3D products ship within 1-3 business days. Our free shipping does not include tracking but it usually takes about 10-14 business days on average to reach anywhere in the world.

Cheers!

Kal



Hi Kal,

I got it thanks for your prompt service:

I have question for you in the video chain where would I place the 3d theatre model...


Currently my set up is a PS3 Denon 1.3 receiver connected to my Panasonic plasma screen.
Back to top
fragzero



Joined: 30 Aug 2012
Posts: 344



PostLink    Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the specs



INPUT: 1 x HDMI v1.4a (HDCP Compliant)
OUTPUT: 1 x HDMI v1.3 (HDCP Compliant), 3-pin mini-DIN Sync Out (for optional emitter)

Seems the only working spot would be between your source device and reciever.


Source ----- 3D-Theatre ---- reciever
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16037
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

+1 to what fragzero wrote. Good luck and enjoy 3D!

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Jorrel



Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 18
Location: Sydney


PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kal I hooked up my theatre plus everything works fine sound picture all coming through successfully, but the issue I have is that dialogue is very faint and you cant hear it. have you got any suggestions?
I got around it by changing the audio option on the PS3 LCM to bitstream, the sound is no longer 7.1 but DTS 5.1...but atleast the dialogue is clear. I would still like some help on the issue thank you.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16037
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you have everything hooked up from source to display?

Normally you put your 3D-Theatre box right before the display so the sound has already been extracted. Like this:

Source -> HDMI cable -> Receiver or preamp -> HDMI cable -> 3D-Theatre box -> HDMI cable -> Display

If you have the 3D-Theatre before the receiver/preamp, the audio simple simply passes through.

The Theatre Plus supports 7.1 audio. Note that this 7.1 audio support is not important if the signal passes through a receiver first and the video is passed through to the 3D-Theatre PLUS. Itís more about future-proofing. The HDMI signal is not altered/changed in any way (no conversion).

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Jorrel



Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 18
Location: Sydney


PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kal wrote:
How do you have everything hooked up from source to display?

Normally you put your 3D-Theatre box right before the display so the sound has already been extracted. Like this:

Source -> HDMI cable -> Receiver or preamp -> HDMI cable -> 3D-Theatre box -> HDMI cable -> Display

If you have the 3D-Theatre before the receiver/preamp, the audio simple simply passes through.

The Theatre Plus supports 7.1 audio. Note that this 7.1 audio support is not important if the signal passes through a receiver first and the video is passed through to the 3D-Theatre PLUS. Itís more about future-proofing. The HDMI signal is not altered/changed in any way (no conversion).

Kal


I hooked it up this way Source ----- 3D-Theatre ---- reciever


Merry XMAS and happy new year...
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 16037
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try putting the 3D-Theatre after the receiver.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Jorrel



Joined: 29 May 2011
Posts: 18
Location: Sydney


PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kal wrote:
Try putting the 3D-Theatre after the receiver.

Kal



OK, I will try it later, do you think it has something to do with the reciever is not a 3d rec.
There is no issue KAL I watched superman in 3d and it looked fantastic all I did to fix the problem is changing the audio single to bitstream...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> 3D Products All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum