Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Building a classic computer to run a classic OS
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Classic Electronics
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 9:37 am    Post subject: Building a classic computer to run a classic OS Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Back in 1999 I had a PC that had 30 something operating systems on it. I did a clean out and got rid of most of that old stuff.

I'm feeling nostalgic so I want to build a crazy fast 1996 PC. I'm searching for a Compaq Proliant 6500 with quad pentium pro motherboard and 256MB of EDO ECC ram x 4. I'll add a Matrox G400 or G200 PCI card and a soundblaster AWE32 card. I can't recall which capture card worked with this system but I'm sure I'll find out. Of course being a classic system I'll put the 4x SCSI CD-ROM drive with caddy and a whopping 6gig SCSI drive.

The operating system? BeOS.

I want to try that again. Just for fun.

So in 1996 dollars that system would have cost as much as a car. Let us see what it will cost me.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
jantje112



Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 327



PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beos.. Runs from within Windows? Tried it few times. Never got me for some reason.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No BeOS not in windows. Just BeOS by itself
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
garyfritz



Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 10598
Location: Fort Collins, CO


PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jeremy, I have a Matrox G450 dual-head card that I was about to throw out. I don't have any systems that have AGP ports any more. You can have it for the price of shipping if you want it.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

garyfritz wrote:
Jeremy, I have a Matrox G450 dual-head card that I was about to throw out. I don't have any systems that have AGP ports any more. You can have it for the price of shipping if you want it.


Yeah I can use that. I'll PM you

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
zaphod



Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2002
Location: Cloverdale


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Classic computer? classic OS - dude i was sure that you meant a DecSystem-10. you know, 35 bit word. with REAL core memory. or at least a VAX/VMS Smile
_________________
walk gently. leave a good impression.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zaphod wrote:
Classic computer? classic OS - dude i was sure that you meant a DecSystem-10. you know, 35 bit word. with REAL core memory. or at least a VAX/VMS Smile


When you get THAT classic then it starts to cost money.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
zaphod



Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2002
Location: Cloverdale


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when we got our VAX 8530, the front end was a PDP11/84 it was the size of a briefcase and was designed to lay flat under the monitor. across the room was a pdp11/74 consisting of of 3 72" tall computer racks.

sold the 11/74 to a collector. stamps are smaller.

_________________
walk gently. leave a good impression.
Back to top
garyfritz



Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 10598
Location: Fort Collins, CO


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember running Unix on an 11/74 back in 1976 or so...

How about a CDC Cyber 6600? The PLATO system I worked on in college ran on one of those -- what a piece of sci-fi junk. Laughing Some people wrote a Cyber simulator and you can still run PLATO today... how's that for classic, Jeremy? You can still play the game I wrote 35 years ago!!
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

garyfritz wrote:
I remember running Unix on an 11/74 back in 1976 or so...

How about a CDC Cyber 6600? The PLATO system I worked on in college ran on one of those -- what a piece of sci-fi junk. Laughing Some people wrote a Cyber simulator and you can still run PLATO today... how's that for classic, Jeremy? You can still play the game I wrote 35 years ago!!
t but first

I'll play it but first I need to get the hair you had back then. Very Happy

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
garyfritz



Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 10598
Location: Fort Collins, CO


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What, you mean this hair ?? That ain't comin' back unless I rent a fright wig...
Back to top
zaphod



Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2002
Location: Cloverdale


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

garyfritz wrote:
I remember running Unix on an 11/74 back in 1976 or so...

How about a CDC Cyber 6600? The PLATO system I worked on in college ran on one of those -- what a piece of sci-fi junk. Laughing Some people wrote a Cyber simulator and you can still run PLATO today... how's that for classic, Jeremy? You can still play the game I wrote 35 years ago!!


yep, worked on the Cyber as well. man what a beast. much nicer to work on the Dec gear.

_________________
walk gently. leave a good impression.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
garyfritz wrote:
I remember running Unix on an 11/74 back in 1976 or so...

How about a CDC Cyber 6600? The PLATO system I worked on in college ran on one of those -- what a piece of sci-fi junk. Laughing Some people wrote a Cyber simulator and you can still run PLATO today... how's that for classic, Jeremy? You can still play the game I wrote 35 years ago!!
t but first

I'll play it but first I need to get the hair you had back then. Very Happy


I'm just watching the introduction how to videos, looks like a fun system so far. I've down loaded the emulator as well.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I missed out on the bidding for a set of 4 matched Pentium Pro 200's with 1 meg cache.

New plan, apparently BeOS will run on Xenon processor. So I'll look for some of those.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
aenglish



Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 78


TV/Projector: Barco BG808s (2002 build)


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
I missed out on the bidding for a set of 4 matched Pentium Pro 200's with 1 meg cache.

New plan, apparently BeOS will run on Xenon processor. So I'll look for some of those.


I think I have a pair of pentium pro 200's somewhere. I will take a look tonight and let you know.

_________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who get binary and those who don't.
Back to top
mc86



Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Posts: 760
Location: pittsburgh, pa

TV/Projector: ECP 4500 (Vidikron box), ECP4500+, wanting 07MS/07MTS, evaluating pc soft-blend


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did a lot of those mid-90s, super-duper machines die from a mass of bad capacitors? I seem to remember shortly after I started in my lab a host of socket 370 machines and better crapped out.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aenglish wrote:
AnalogRocks wrote:
I missed out on the bidding for a set of 4 matched Pentium Pro 200's with 1 meg cache.

New plan, apparently BeOS will run on Xenon processor. So I'll look for some of those.


I think I have a pair of pentium pro 200's somewhere. I will take a look tonight and let you know.


Cool thanks....

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
greg_mitch



Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 5321



PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have some old computer junk...I will see what it is and list it for you junk collectors out there. Wink
_________________
My HT Build Thread - The Watercrest
Back to top
A Rogers



Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 133
Location: Toronto On


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mc86 wrote:
did a lot of those mid-90s, super-duper machines die from a mass of bad capacitors? I seem to remember shortly after I started in my lab a host of socket 370 machines and better crapped out.


You might find this interesting

http://www.dashdist.com/1u2u/company/capacitor.html

Pretty sure that Pentium pros came out before the bad cap problems.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

greg_mitch wrote:
I have some old computer junk...I will see what it is and list it for you junk collectors out there. Wink


Junk is spelt classic

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Classic Electronics All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum