Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Setting custom resolution with Nvidia and Powestrip

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25418
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:40 am    Post subject: Setting custom resolution with Nvidia and Powestrip Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Here's a one stop shop for this instead of having it spread out through many threads.

If you find a tid bit feel free to copy/paste it here. Even if it isn't yours.
Just remember to give credit for the post and a link to the original post if it's copied.

Mark had a great one tonight so I'm doing the copy/paste:

http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=228983#228983
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
Mark_A_W



Club Member

Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 2604
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


Link Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:35 pm Post subject:
I dunno, I've never used anything but a PC.


But did you know, that with the Nvidia timings your have to use "half" the vertical res if you're doing interlaced - so 540 instead of 1080....boy that cost me some hours...
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here are working timings for 1080i 71.929hz on Nvidia (change the timing from Auto to create or tweak it..).

Notice the GDI timing is 72hz? This means software like XBMC "sees" the right refresh rate, which it won't with Powerstrip on an ATi.



res.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  127.33 KB
 Viewed:  12251 Time(s)

res.jpg


Back to top
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, and Jeremy, you could transpose the contents of that other thread with the Ati details here (and delete this post).
Back to top
GREG1292



Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 417
Location: indiana


PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Setting custom resolution with Nvidia and Powestrip Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
Here's a one stop shop for this instead of having it spread out through many threads.

If you find a tid bit feel free to copy/paste it here. Even if it isn't yours.
Just remember to give credit for the post and a link to the original post if it's copied.

Mark had a great one tonight so I'm doing the copy/paste:

http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=228983#228983
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
Mark_A_W



Club Member

Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 2604
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


Link Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:35 pm Post subject:
I dunno, I've never used anything but a PC.


But did you know, that with the Nvidia timings your have to use "half" the vertical res if you're doing interlaced - so 540 instead of 1080....boy that cost me some hours...
___________________________________________________________________________________________________


So that is why my projector freaks out on 1080I Shocked Cost me some hours as well Analog! Thumbs Up

Mark is that with just bnc or you have an hdfury or moome stripper as well! These timings I assume won't
stress out the electronics?

Great idea for a thread Analog

_________________
https://www.avforums.com/threads/worldwide-crt-projector-shootout.2000957/page-87

https://discuss.avscience.com/?topic=30.120
Back to top
the_maniac



Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 111
Location: Austria - Europe


PostLink    Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

on the pic above the interlaced check box is disabled, so when you set the lines to 540 is it enabled ?

or is it working with powerstrip even when the check box is disabled ?

i think i'm going to change my mainboard from ATI onboard to Nvidia onboard (8200) because of gamma correction but only if im 100% sure that 1080i works

_________________
www.diy-community.de
Back to top
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"on the pic above the interlaced check box is disabled, so when you set the lines to 540 is it enabled ? "

It works when you set Timing Standard to custom - all the boxes become active.


"or is it working with powerstrip even when the check box is disabled ? "

Do not use Powerstrip with an Nvidia card.


And yes, 1080i works on Nvidia. At least it does on my 8500 card.
Back to top
johnnynickel



Joined: 10 Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Southern Vermont


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why shouldn't you use powerstrip with nvidia?
Back to top
johnnynickel



Joined: 10 Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Location: Southern Vermont


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the answer is right in that link. sorry.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum