Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Java Erros

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Forum Feedback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JustGreg



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 3098
Location: Kenosha, WI


PostLink    Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 4:17 pm    Post subject: Java Erros Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Hi Kal,

The last couple days I've been getting Java error messages here...it's not happening at other websites. It's happening here at work and at home. Win2K Pro at work, new install of XP (hate it..slow and sluggish) at home.
Message says "Done but with errors on page".

Nobody else is saying anything so perhaps it's just a coinci-dunce.

--Greg--

_________________
Greg

"Is it ignorance or apathy? Hey, I don't know and I don't care!" --Jimmy Buffett
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15709
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problems here... tried 2-3 browsers (all recent).

Can you screenshot it so that I see exactly where the error's showing up?

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25418
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get that too but only on the old Netscape 4.7 browser
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
RBV



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Location: Finland


PostLink    Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yes there are JavaScript error/errors.
For example with IE6 there is a yellow exclamation point on the lower left corner. Doubleclick it and it will tell you more information (check out the screenshots).
As a web programmer myself, I usually have to keep this dialog window active, so it's extremely annoying to get these messages constantly from some web pages. Sad



error.gif
 Description:
 Filesize:  5.87 KB
 Viewed:  5234 Time(s)

error.gif



ForumError.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  129.28 KB
 Viewed:  5230 Time(s)

ForumError.jpg



_________________
My HT: http://dvdfreax.com
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15709
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I think I've fixed it. Thanks for pointing this out. Mind trying again?

For those of you getting these errors - do you mind testing a few pages on the main site to see if you get the error there as well? Thanks!

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15709
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bump!

Any news if this fixed the problem for you guys? Do you have similar problems on the main site as well?

Thanks!

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
RBV



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Location: Finland


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem stays exactly the same. Don't you get that error msg with your IE?
_________________
My HT: http://dvdfreax.com
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15709
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks RBV... so you're still getting the error in the forum? That's strange. I had made one small global change about 1 week ago but backed that out a couple of days ago.

Nothing else has changed in weeks and weeks.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15709
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, yes, I do get the error in IE6 but not in Firefox 1.5

I suggest that you simply uncheck that checkbox for now that states "always show errors".... there's really no reason to have this on unless you're a web developer... Smile

If you want to see the errors you can still see them by looking in the status as it'll display "Done but with errors on page".

I'll look into why it's happening.

Everything still works... the error's minor and 99% of people don't even seem to realize it's happening.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
JustGreg



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 3098
Location: Kenosha, WI


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow...I start a thread and then don't keep up with it...what a loser! Laughing

Still getting the same thing today Kal...same exact snapshots as above. I updated my Java ver but it didn't make any difference.

No biggie but it makes me wonder what I might be missing! Rolling Eyes

_________________
Greg

"Is it ignorance or apathy? Hey, I don't know and I don't care!" --Jimmy Buffett
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15709
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI: It's not a Java error... Some sort of HTML or Javascript error.

I thought I knew what it was (since I had only done one code update in the last 2-3 months) but that wasn't it.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15709
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed.

Well that's friggin' strange. The little program I run to cycle the top banner ads had a slight change to it to disable it (on Aug 8th). The screenshot earlier in this thread show that indeed, the graphic banner ads had been disabled. I never did that! I'm starting to think we've been hacked! ???

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
RBV



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Location: Finland


PostLink    Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kal wrote:

the error's minor and 99% of people don't even seem to realize it's happening.

Kal


Problem seems to be fixed!

I have a some kind of a rule to myself. As a web developer, I really don't want to use javascript for various reasons. But when I have to do, I really want to be very sure it works properly. Unfortunately, there aren't many who thinks as I do... Smile

One reason why I don't much like javascript is that people tend to think it's same as Java programming language (like seen in this thred). Javascript and Java are totally different things. Javascript is just a simple script on a web page which makes f.e. a button to change it's color but Java is something which makes tick everything from a cellphone to a complex web service.

As a Java programmer, I can clearly see how javascript gives a bad name to a very good programming language: "So, youre a java programmer? I hate those java errors on web pages, who does java suck so much?" *sigh* Rolling Eyes

_________________
My HT: http://dvdfreax.com
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15709
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RBV wrote:
Problem seems to be fixed!

I have a some kind of a rule to myself. As a web developer, I really don't want to use javascript for various reasons. But when I have to do, I really want to be very sure it works properly. Unfortunately, there aren't many who thinks as I do... Smile

Actually, the problem wasn't at all Javascript related... it was in a PHP file that somehow got changed on me. (The version on the site didn't match what I have on my laptop!).

Agreed about Javascript. It has to to looked at very carefully before enabling. A lot of my dayjob clients don't allow it so we use workarounds.

Java is a mature enterprise level development platform that many of our customers spend millions on for us to develop them web solutions - and you're right - nothing to do with Javascript.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Blonde Jayme



Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 2



PostLink    Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol, brian... have you found that leather prada wallet you were lookin for?
_________________
I'm a prada girl! Man Personalized Wallet Store
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15709
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Prada wallets? I don't get it...

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Forum Feedback All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum