Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!


Mac with FiOs?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tri_joel



Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 639
Location: Northern Virginia


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:14 pm    Post subject: Mac with FiOs? Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
My wife wants a Mac and a tv in the kitchen. Can I do both? Is it possible to connect the FiOs STB to a Mac monitor or route the HDMI throug the Mac to the monitor?
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25148
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Mac with FiOs? Reply with quote

tri_joel wrote:
My wife wants a Mac and a tv in the kitchen. Can I do both? Is it possible to connect the FiOs STB to a Mac monitor or route the HDMI throug the Mac to the monitor?


What are the connections on the FiOs box and the monitor?

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
tri_joel



Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 639
Location: Northern Virginia


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The STB has HDMI, component, composite, and svideo. No idea what the monitor has, I don't have one yet.
Back to top
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can buy a sub-$100 HDMI splitter, but no idea what the Mac is using. Displayport?
_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
ecrabb
Forum Moderator


Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Posts: 15909
Location: Utah

TV/Projector: JVC RS40, Epson 5010


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No current Apple displays will take any sort of CE DVI or HDMI signal and display it properly without additional hardware (scaler). You're better off with a Dell or Samsung display if you want to be able to connect CE devices to it. The brand new DisplayPort display that just came out might possibly (I don't know), but I highly doubt it.

A Dell or Samsung (or whatever) display would be a fine "kitchen" display, and you could switch back and forth between the FiOs STB and a MacBook or Mini or whatever. You don't have to use an Apple display with an Apple monitor. Even if you pick a new MacBook or the rumored about-be-announced Mini with DisplayPort, you'll be able to get a DisplayPort-to-DVI or DisplayPort-to-HDMI adapter.

SC
Back to top
View user's photo album (10 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25148
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stay away from the Dell's go with the Samsung's they seem to have better compatibility
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
tri_joel



Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 639
Location: Northern Virginia


PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks ecrabb, the mini sounds like the way to go. It's to bad that the Apple displays don't do HDMI, such great looking displays.
_________________
www.vawinesnob.com
Back to top
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the US$400 the wife spent on buying me my Xmas present (Samsung 24" 1920x1200 LCD HTDV), I am enjoying feeding it two CE sources (Sony BDP-BX1 and DirecTV HR21) and two computers. I've got both HDMI inputs in use, the DVI-D, and the RGBhv. I am not using the Composite or Component inputs at this time, but I am temped to hook up the Xbox 360 via Component.
_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum