Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

WinXP (MCE2005) Won't Run Recovery from CD

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AFryia



Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 919
Location: S.E. Michigan VPH-G70Q


PostLink    Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:07 am    Post subject: WinXP (MCE2005) Won't Run Recovery from CD Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
My HTPC crapped out and I'm not sure why. Evil or Very Mad

The PC boots all the way to my desktop then about the time PowerStrip would load the custom timings the PC re-boots agian.

I can't get it into safe mode. If I select safe mode the PC just re-boots.

If I run Recovery console it just re-boots, never gets to the recovery screen.

WTF!

I can run Ubantu live from the CD so the basic hardware is OK, except maybe the HD.

I'd really hate to have to blow everything away and reload.

Anyone have any ideas or tricks?
Back to top
View user's photo album (29 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had that problem in XP, I was able to get things working by running msconfig and unchecking a whole bunch of stuff that liked to startup at boot time. Then I uninstalled and reinstalled Powerstrip.

Unfortunately you're stuck in a reboot loop. Try unplugging your USB devices and take any disks out of the optical drives. If that doesn't work go into the BIOS and manually set the memory timings. I found my mother board was very sensitive to memory timings and the AUTO feature had them wrong. It was booting as CAS 3 and the sticks were Cas 2.5.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
AFryia



Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 919
Location: S.E. Michigan VPH-G70Q


PostLink    Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
. I found my mother board was very sensitive to memory timings and the AUTO feature had them wrong. It was booting as CAS 3 and the sticks were Cas 2.5.


AR,

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

I recieved some CL2 memory back from a warntee claim. In the mean time I had bought more memory that was backwards compatable. Unfortunately it was CL3. So when I added the warentee memory the two would not play nice.

Curious though the BIOS and Ubantu OS didn't seem to care only WinXP.
Back to top
View user's photo album (29 photos)
Chuchuf



Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Posts: 548



PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="AFryia"]
AnalogRocks wrote:
.

Curious though the BIOS and Ubantu OS didn't seem to care only WinXP.


Because when you went into XP you were actually trying to use some of the memory.

Terry
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25432
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFryia wrote:
AnalogRocks wrote:
. I found my mother board was very sensitive to memory timings and the AUTO feature had them wrong. It was booting as CAS 3 and the sticks were Cas 2.5.


AR,

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

I recieved some CL2 memory back from a warntee claim. In the mean time I had bought more memory that was backwards compatable. Unfortunately it was CL3. So when I added the warentee memory the two would not play nice.

Curious though the BIOS and Ubantu OS didn't seem to care only WinXP.


So you got it up and running properly then??

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
AFryia



Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 919
Location: S.E. Michigan VPH-G70Q


PostLink    Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup!
_________________
My Volt Blog
Back to top
View user's photo album (29 photos)
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum