Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!


Site running Sloooooow!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Forum Feedback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mad Mr H



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 641
Location: London , England


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 5:14 pm    Post subject: Site running Sloooooow! Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Hi,

UK time 17.12 15/3/06

Pages taking about 6 to 8 seconds to load up

A short reply takes 16 seconds for page to refresh

NOT my PC or load on my broadbean link

Other sites fine....

Worth a check maybe ???
(Usually happens just prior to an issue on other forums.......Hope not)
Back to top
God_TM



Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Hillsboro, OR


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Working fine for me... has been all day so far.

Try running a tracert on www.curtpalme.com and see where the delay is at (if it is a traffic delay... could be many other issues).

(sorry if I assume you don't know how to do this, but:) Start -> run... and type in 'cmd'. A console session will open up and you can then type in 'tracert www.curtpalme.com' and it'll list all of the hops it takes you to get to curt's site.

Mine for instance gives me:

C:\>tracert www.curtpalme.com

Tracing route to www.curtpalme.com [82.165.198.238]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 23 ms 22 ms 22 ms L100.DSL-02.PTLDOR.verizon-gni.net [71.111.48.1]

3 22 ms 23 ms 23 ms P1-1.LCR-01.WASHDC.verizon-gni.net [130.81.34.80
]
4 77 ms 47 ms 48 ms so-6-0-0-0.PEER-RTR1.SJC80.verizon-gni.net [130.
81.17.133]
5 48 ms 48 ms 48 ms so-6-1-0-0.gar2.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.79.54.1]

6 48 ms 48 ms 48 ms ae-1-53.bbr1.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.68.123.65]
7 123 ms 124 ms 124 ms as-3-0.bbr2.NewYork1.Level3.net [64.159.1.134]
8 124 ms 123 ms 124 ms ae-23-52.car3.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.97.50]
9 124 ms 124 ms 124 ms level3-up.nyc.schlund.net [4.78.164.2]
10 124 ms 124 ms 124 ms a0nycc2.gw-core-a.nyc.schlund.net [217.160.229.1
04]
11 124 ms 125 ms 124 ms perfora.net [82.165.198.238]

Trace complete.

Does yours give anything much higher than 124 ms? Could be a network issue... otherwise, try a different browser and see if that makes any difference (try Opera, or Firefox (Opera is better IMHO)).
Back to top
Mad Mr H



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 641
Location: London , England


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi nothing over 75ms BUT

nuber 2 shows * * * * time out

Same results after 3 checks
Back to top
Mad Mr H



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 641
Location: London , England


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curts site runs fine, so does google, ebay and about 4 other forum sites

Just the forum here......
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15856
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm noticing some slowdowns too... I think it's 100% database related (something I can't do anything about unfortunately).

I've installed some changes to do template (page) caching to reduce some server overhead and that did nothing, so it's not a server CPU load problem.

Also not a networking issue.

That only leaves the database.

When I set up this forum, I was database number 300-something. Lotsa people using that machine as a database server!

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
linecircle



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 72
Location: Toronto, Canada


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forum also running slow here. Website is fine. Tracert ~40ms.

There's about a 3 sec delay from sending the forum a http request until data starts coming back at full speed. (delay is 10 sec when making a post)
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15856
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I give up...

I created a brand new test forum from scratch and the slowdowns still occur even with all default settings.

I did the following

- Creating a brand new database from scratch.
- Did a clean install of phpBB v2.0.19 (changed NOTHING in the admin console).
- Logged in as administrator.
- Posting and pages switches are still slow. Same as on this forum here.

So I can conclusively say, there ain't nothing I can do about it!

My guess is that the server that the hosting company is running our database on overloaded. The hosting company is 1and1.com. The database host name is db???.perfora.net (??? entered to protect the innocent).

I'll check it a few times later in the day (tonight) to see if the performance is better.

We have very few users here and the base app code is clean. Shouldn't be slow like this.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Mad Mr H



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 641
Location: London , England


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, almost sorry I asked,

As its not "your" server than thats fine, it was just a heads up as nearly always I have seen this it leads to down time on that forum.......

To be honest most have been array fails and rebuild arrays......

If its not your own server then nothing to worry about....OR as you say nothing you can do about it......

Thanks for trying though......

It is important to keep forums 100% up and running.........
Back to top
Mad Mr H



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 641
Location: London , England


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UK time 22:09 and much faster at the mo 5 seconds for page to dissapear after hitting "submit" then the usual 5 sec wait on the "message entered" page.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15856
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mad Mr H wrote:
Ok, almost sorry I asked,

As its not "your" server than thats fine, it was just a heads up as nearly always I have seen this it leads to down time on that forum.......

To be honest most have been array fails and rebuild arrays......

If its not your own server then nothing to worry about....OR as you say nothing you can do about it......

Thanks for trying though......

It is important to keep forums 100% up and running.........

My fault or not... I still don't like to see it this slow! Smile I hate it when you can't control things...

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
linecircle



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 72
Location: Toronto, Canada


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An update on my side, things are now instant* again. =D
*more or less
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15856
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

11PM here (GMT-5) and it's instantaneous as well on this forum and my test forums so it's pretty much conclusive that the problems simply that the shared server we're on wsa just too busy (either server CPU or database).

*sigh*

Unfortunate that the only way out of this is a dedicated server. ($$$)

We'll keep an eye on it over time and see how it goes.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Forum Feedback All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum