Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

lumagen question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Video Processors, Converters, Switchers, Cables
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
benareeno



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1614
Location: ottawa, canada


PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:14 am    Post subject: lumagen question Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
If I hook up something like a wd box via hdmi...will it still be hdcp?

In other words, can I view HD and output over 5bnc?

I understand that a Blu-ray player in through hdmi would only let you output over hdmi...but I'm wondering about other options.

Also, if I can do that...is there some sort of a hdcp stripper that simply strips it? THen I could ouptut from Bluray player to stripper, then to lumagen without hdcp...then vga into the projector.

Is this logical?
Back to top
Nashou66



Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 16170
Location: West Seneca NY


PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moome VF01 or also known as the MUX

http://www.moomecard.com/moome/products/item/24-vf01
Nashou

_________________
Don't blame your underwear for your crooked ass~ unknown Greek philosopher


"Republicans believe every day is the Fourth of July, but the Democrats believe every day is April 15." --- President Reagan

One Smart Dog!!!

Marquee High Performance Bellows now shipping!!
Marquee Modifications and Performance Enhancement
Marquee C-element and Bellow removal
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
benareeno



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1614
Location: ottawa, canada


PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nash,

does that mean what I was asking above is true...it will work? If the hdmi goes in with no hdcp, I can hook up via vga?

This device seems to do the trick, but it's 290...200 bucks more than the lumagen Smile

Is there a cheap bastard version??

I found someone selling a HDFury version 1...which will do the trick...but it would be after the lumagen. WHich is not ideal...but doable.
Back to top
benareeno



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1614
Location: ottawa, canada


PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you do the gamma correction with your lumagen?
Back to top
Nashou66



Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 16170
Location: West Seneca NY


PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can pu the HD fury before the lumagen, the DVI connectors can be configured I believe for RGBHV or some of the component and composite are combined to make a rgbhv input. I would do it that way, if the HD Fury will send 1080p@24 then have the lumagen output what ever you want. For scope use 800p@72 etc. then use the lumagen for Greyscale and gamma at 11 points.

Nashou

_________________
Don't blame your underwear for your crooked ass~ unknown Greek philosopher


"Republicans believe every day is the Fourth of July, but the Democrats believe every day is April 15." --- President Reagan

One Smart Dog!!!

Marquee High Performance Bellows now shipping!!
Marquee Modifications and Performance Enhancement
Marquee C-element and Bellow removal
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
stridsvognen
Guest







PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

benareeno wrote:
Nash,

does that mean what I was asking above is true...it will work? If the hdmi goes in with no hdcp, I can hook up via vga?

This device seems to do the trick, but it's 290...200 bucks more than the lumagen Smile

Is there a cheap bastard version??

I found someone selling a HDFury version 1...which will do the trick...but it would be after the lumagen. WHich is not ideal...but doable.


http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34454&highlight=

Here is the best chepest solution.. Wink

Just strip HDCP, and then let the Lumagen do the DA converting in the end.

I tested it on 4 different VP.. worked perfect. For sure better than any HDfury solutions.
Back to top
benareeno



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1614
Location: ottawa, canada


PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like this doesn't strip hdcp...I was thinking I needed it to do that.
Back to top
stridsvognen
Guest







PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

benareeno wrote:
It looks like this doesn't strip hdcp...I was thinking I needed it to do that.


What dont strip HDCP.?
Back to top
benareeno



Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 1614
Location: ottawa, canada


PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The link above..
Back to top
km987654



Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 2761
Location: Australia

TV/Projector: Barco BG809s


PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need a moom Mux-HD. You can put that between the source device and the lumagen you can then run RGBVH out of the Lumagen to the projector at 1080p etc.
Back to top
stridsvognen
Guest







PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

benareeno wrote:
The link above..


Sorry if its not clear, but the 25$ HDMI splitter do strip HDCP perfect, You need to read all the thread i linked to.

As i told i tested it with 1080P 24/60hz HDMI in and 1080P60hz RGBHV out of 4 different VP.

It is the cheepest solution i know off if you already have a VP with RGBHV out.

The moome is another solution, just depends your needs for inputs, and how much money you have to spende.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Video Processors, Converters, Switchers, Cables All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum