Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Is the Jury still out on Geforce 8800's custom resolutions?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25398
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:58 am    Post subject: Is the Jury still out on Geforce 8800's custom resolutions? Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
I am in need of a better video card in my Green Machine PVR HTPC. It has the GeForce 6150 on board with 128MB shared ram. It couldn't handle full 1080P without dropping frames.

I've read a few post's about the custom timmings of the GeForce 8800 cards.
I understand that the driver has Power Strip-like adjustability. Does it work correctly?

Should I buy now or wait for Powerstrip compatability.
OR
Should I buy a previous generation 7950 while they're still available?

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you game?

If not, my 2600XT works great for custon res's, HD-DVD, and TS files.

It just, umm, works.

The only caveat is my Moome card doesn't seem to like it, but Kai, with the same video card and same ISS card has no problems.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25398
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I game insessently in the winter months. I'll do 20 hours strait at times or have weekends that start Friday night and I'll be thinking it's Saturday morning when it's actually Tuesday. Although I haven't gamed like that in a couple of years.

SO yes. I do not want any ATi contamination in the Green Machine. I have my two other previous ATi based PVR's to curse and swear at.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh, we have polar experiences.

I've had no problems with Radeon 9000, 9500 pro, and HD2600XT. Brilliant for HTPC use.

But a 6800GT was a total POS. Could even run multi monitors with it or the PC would freeze. Powerstrip didn't work very well, the Nvidia custom res thingy didn't work. And biggest of all, VMR9 didn't work without tearing. Pile of crap.
The only good thing was the Gamma graph.

But a 2600XT is not for a hardcore gamer.
And I wouldn't touch an AIW with a 50ft pole.
Back to top
scottap



Joined: 27 Mar 2007
Posts: 177
Location: Palo Alto, CA


PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark_A_W wrote:
I've had no problems with Radeon 9000, 9500 pro, and HD2600XT. Brilliant for HTPC use.

Are you using the HD2600XT under Vista or XP? I know you need Vista for HD hardware acceleration features, but I don't have an HD-DVD or Blu-ray drive yet and want to wait until Vista's a little more stable (say 3 service packs from now Rolling Eyes ) before upgrading.
Back to top
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XP.

I'm using a beta version of Catalyst which breaks acceleration, but with the earlier catalyst it does work. You don't have to go to Vista.

But I don't need acceleration Smile
Back to top
Darren Wadsworth



Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 238
Location: Tacoma, Washington


PostLink    Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently setup an 8600gt using the custom resolution approach. No powerstrip. Everything works perfectly with latest drivers.

Darren

_________________

"DLP is the official ESPN on ABC HD telecast sponser of college football"
Back to top
kschmit2



Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 1141
Location: Heidelberg, Germany


PostLink    Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

scottap wrote:
Mark_A_W wrote:
I've had no problems with Radeon 9000, 9500 pro, and HD2600XT. Brilliant for HTPC use.

Are you using the HD2600XT under Vista or XP? I know you need Vista for HD hardware acceleration features, but I don't have an HD-DVD or Blu-ray drive yet and want to wait until Vista's a little more stable (say 3 service packs from now Rolling Eyes ) before upgrading.


I'm under Vista.

It is easily the most stable OS I have ever used. Not a single crash or instability, or lack of responsiveness in 4 months of HEAVY use.
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25398
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren Wadsworth wrote:
I recently setup an 8600gt using the custom resolution approach. No powerstrip. Everything works perfectly with latest drivers.

Darren


What resolution are you running at?

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Darren Wadsworth



Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 238
Location: Tacoma, Washington


PostLink    Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was running at 1440x720. But recently changed to 1280x720. One of the things that helped was I took the settings from powerstrip before I changed the card. That got me in the "ballpark" as far as porch settings etc.

Are you using XP?

Darren

_________________

"DLP is the official ESPN on ABC HD telecast sponser of college football"
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25398
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep XP pro SP2
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Joust



Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 2430
Location: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Marquee 8501LC


PostLink    Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren Wadsworth wrote:
I recently setup an 8600gt using the custom resolution approach. No powerstrip. Everything works perfectly with latest drivers.

Darren

glad to hear that, that is the card i just bought.
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25398
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well after buying a Geforce 8600 GTS OC 256mb card I have no luck getting it to take custom resolutions.

For example I'm trying to turn 1080i's 1920 x 1080 down a little so it won't overscan on my RPTV. Everytime I try to adjust the resolution from the Nvidia control panel it want's me to test. The test always fails.

Is there a manual way to do this?

I remember a thread where we discussed this previously and can't seem to find it at 4:41am. Smile

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
oliverg



Joined: 15 May 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Melbourne, Australia

TV/Projector: Sony G90 X2 - Vidikron Vision 1


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use Riva tuner AR - you can set custom timings with it Smile

What driver version are you using?

Regards

_________________
( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0 ( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0
( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0 ( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25398
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oliverg wrote:
Use Riva tuner AR - you can set custom timings with it Smile

What driver version are you using?

Regards


I'll have to look up the driver later. I was just on the Rivatune site, They said it only supported up to the 7000 series cards.
Have you used it on the 8000 series?

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
oliverg



Joined: 15 May 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Melbourne, Australia

TV/Projector: Sony G90 X2 - Vidikron Vision 1


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Download 2.06 from here:

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=163

It supports 8 series cards, I use it with my 8800gtxs

Kind regards

_________________
( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0 ( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0
( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0 ( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25398
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent! I'll try that.

Thanks Oliver!!

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
oliverg



Joined: 15 May 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Melbourne, Australia

TV/Projector: Sony G90 X2 - Vidikron Vision 1


PostLink    Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem Smile

There's another handy utility called "refresh force"

Kind regards

_________________
( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0 ( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0
( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0 ( R ) G ( G ) 9 ( B ) 0
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum