Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Video chain on G90?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> CRT Projectors
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
deronmoped



Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1114
Location: San Diego


PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:26 am    Post subject: Video chain on G90? Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
So I was wondering, does it matter if I feed my G90 with a digital signal or a analog one? I'm using a HTPC so I have a choice of DVI with a HDMI adapter to the HDMI input and a VGA to RGBHV input. Does the G90 change the digital signal to analog or does it change a analog signal to digital? Visually is there any difference?
Back to top
Curt Palme
CRT Tech


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 23648
Location: Langley, BC

TV/Projector: All of them!


PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All CRTs change a digital signal to analog, the difference is whether you do it in the computer, or in the Moome card.
Back to top
wanderer



Joined: 11 Jan 2015
Posts: 40



PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Deron, try both the DVI\HDMI and then direct VGA and see which one looks better. One or the other will look better, owing to one having a better signal path, less bandwidth loss, etc. You won't know though until you test it all out Smile
Back to top
gregstv



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 624
Location: Australia


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pictures of your testing please.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15653
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All things being equal, staying digital as long as possible is the best solution as the signal is impervious to change while digital, or should I say, it's either the same (correct) or it isn't (incorrect). If it's changed then that's an error and given the nature of HDMI signals often you'll get no pic at all. Analog signals on the other hand degrade over any path, be it 1000km or 2cm. That's just the nature of analog. Whether that change is noticeable is the unknown.

Now things are never equal. So if you had all digital to the projector and then a REALLY crappy digital to analog converter directly installed in the CRT projector, that may look worse than having a really good digital to analog converter near the source device and then pushing that signal over a long analog cable to the projector.

The good news is that you have a Sony CRT projector and Moome's Sony HDMI input cards are very good at converting HDMI to analog: http://www.curtpalme.com/IFB-FULLHD.shtm

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
tfuller



Joined: 17 Nov 2017
Posts: 18



PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another significant advantage is that running all your inputs through a single digital converter reduces the amount of setup you have to do for every source, even more so if they all use the same resolution
Back to top
deronmoped



Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1114
Location: San Diego


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a HDMI card in the G90, is that something Sony installed or could it be aftermarket?
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15653
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have an HDMI card in your G90 it would be Moome's IFB-FULLHD v3: HDMI 1.4 Input Card with 3D card here (or an earlier version): http://www.curtpalme.com/IFB-FULLHD.shtm

Nobody else makes HDMI cards for the G90. Sony never did either. The G90 was designed/built about 5-6 years before HDMI even existed.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
deronmoped



Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1114
Location: San Diego


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I have the early version card with one HDMI input and component input.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15653
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Component? That's one of the really old ones! You may want consider the newest version - it's about 4 generations newer with improved image quality all around: http://www.curtpalme.com/IFB-FULLHD.shtm

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
HaydnG90



Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 1020



PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And also better/more reliable HDCP handshake.
Back to top
CIR Engineering



Joined: 25 Aug 2008
Posts: 3868
Location: Chicago USA & Berlin Germany


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

deronmoped wrote:
Yeah, I have the early version card with one HDMI input and component input.


That card is terrible. It has horrible bandwidth limitations. With that card your PC analog will almost certainly be better.

Like Kal, I would suggest one of the newer Moome cards. The current card or the one before it are both great (you can tell which cards are the good ones because they are the only versions with two HDMI inputs). I have several of the older of the two that I am going to list if you decide not to go with one of the newest cards.

Best,
craigr

_________________
JETI Specbos 1211 Spectroradiometer
Photo Research PR-650 Spectroradiometer
Klein K10-A Laboratory Grade Colorimeter
Murideo Fresco SIX-G HDMI 2.x Multimedia Generator
Murideo Fresco SIX-A HDMI 2.x Analyzer
*NEW Light Illusion LightSpace XPT Pro Version 10.x Color Calibration Software
ChromaPure3 Pro Color Calibration Software
Sencore CR7000 CRT Tube Analyzer / Rejuvenater
Audyssey MultEQ Pro Audio Calibration System
Authorized Dealer for Lumagen & just about everything else Wink
www.CIR-Engineering.com - craigr@cir-engineering.com
Phone: 865-405-6892
Back to top
deronmoped



Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1114
Location: San Diego


PostLink    Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not had much time to work with setting up the PJ, so it's going to be a while before I have all the convergence and focus done. Then I will be able to evaluate the analog to see if I will be happy with that or get a better HDMI card.
Back to top
gregstv



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 624
Location: Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is Moome still selling internal cards?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> CRT Projectors All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum