Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Autocal time

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> ChromaPure Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wfdTamar



Joined: 31 Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Location: Tasmania, Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Really gotta laugh at the 'go and have a cup of coffee, it'll only take a few minutes' to do an auto calibrate. Possibly in the early days when there weren't so many calibration points, but my first one is looking like it's going to take quite a few hours.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15740
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wfdTamar wrote:
Really gotta laugh at the 'go and have a cup of coffee, it'll only take a few minutes' to do an auto calibrate. Possibly in the early days when there weren't so many calibration points, but my first one is looking like it's going to take quite a few hours.

What meter are you using?

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
wfdTamar



Joined: 31 Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Location: Tasmania, Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

X-Rite EyeOne Display 3 Colorimeter with ChromaPure (which I just recently got with a Radiance 4242 from you).

I was running it on an older laptop (Core2 Duo P8600 with 4Gb memory running Win 8.1 64-bit).

Also I did have all turned up to 11 to do the most complete calibration.

When I did one with Chromapure 2 using my DVDO iScan Duo it would take about 20 minutes with that laptop.

I'm going to try with an i5 based laptop today.


Last edited by wfdTamar on Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:27 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15740
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How many calibration points are you calibrating to? How long did it end up taking? I can certainly ask if it's normal, based on what you're using.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
wfdTamar



Joined: 31 Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Location: Tasmania, Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:12 am    Post subject: FullHD calibration Reply with quote

Everything was set at maximum (hopefully to get best results). Here's some photo's (sorry, most are too big). This is for a Rec 709, BT. 1886 calibration. I'm not sure if I have the settings at the best for this purpose and my TV. This is for FullHD sources. I have put further questions in the photo comments.

I ended up canceling it after a few hours as I wanted to watch TV! At the pace it was going it might have taken 6 hours (judging by how far through it was).

My TV is a 65" Panasonic EZ1000 OLED (which apparently can do 1000 nits).

[/img]



cal7.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  110.68 KB
 Viewed:  2355 Time(s)

cal7.jpg



cal6.jpg
 Description:
Pre Calibration Gamut. Anything of significance here?
 Filesize:  430.4 KB
 Viewed:  2358 Time(s)

cal6.jpg



cal5.jpg
 Description:
Pre Calibration Gamut. Anything of significance here?
 Filesize:  421.18 KB
 Viewed:  2358 Time(s)

cal5.jpg



cal4.jpg
 Description:
What is that Luminance 75%?
Also the R: 2.22?
 Filesize:  76.9 KB
 Viewed:  2358 Time(s)

cal4.jpg



cal3.jpg
 Description:
BT. 1886 or 2.22, 2.3, 2.4?

With OLED should Black Level be 0?
White levels higher with my TV?
 Filesize:  353.55 KB
 Viewed:  2358 Time(s)

cal3.jpg



cal2.jpg
 Description:
Is this correct?
 Filesize:  370.17 KB
 Viewed:  2358 Time(s)

cal2.jpg



Cal1.jpg
 Description:
1. Not sure about :
a. Greyscale Mode
b. Filter Colors Outside Display Gamut
c. Gamma Target
 Filesize:  365.87 KB
 Viewed:  2358 Time(s)

Cal1.jpg




Last edited by wfdTamar on Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:16 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
wfdTamar



Joined: 31 Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Location: Tasmania, Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying today with an i5 laptop with 6Gb memory and Win 10 it's not much better. Looks like it may take 5 hours!

Have I set something way too high? I thought one of the selling points of the Radiance Pro was that you could do a more thorough calibrations, but if it's going to take the best part of a day to do it.... Surely an i5 computer should be plenty for this?

Just read in the Chromapure manual that selecting 4913 colours can take 'several hours'.

*After nearly 3 hours and half way through, Chromapure has stopped measuring. Grrr. I'll have to quit it and try at a lower setting. Not impressed to spend over US$5k and find it can't actually cope running at full steam.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15740
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 'cup of coffee' comment was definitely something I wrote back when 125 point calibration was the only option. You can still do that sort of calibration and get close to where you want to be to make sure it's all working as expected, and it'll be ~40 times faster.

So that what I'd suggest you do: Do a quick 125 point auto-cal and attach your results before and after report here. That's much easier for ChromaPure support to analyze.

I've ask ChromaPure support to comment here as well.

Cheers,

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
TomHuffman



Joined: 01 Jun 2010
Posts: 71
Location: Springfield, MO


PostLink    Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based on your screenshot, you attempted a 4913 color calibration. That would take hours to complete. I would strongly advise against that, at least when you are doing a standard 709 calibration. Start with a 125 point.

Also, for the post-calibration report there's really only a few pages that are relevant. Click the Quick Report icon at the top of the auto-cal page. This is the most important report page for auto-cal. See the included attachment.



dESummary.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  34.21 KB
 Viewed:  2311 Time(s)

dESummary.jpg



_________________
ChromaPure calibration software & meter packages at CurtPalme.com discounted prices!
Back to top
wfdTamar



Joined: 31 Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Location: Tasmania, Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did the most basic calibration which from memory took about an hour (it was yesterday). That was with Chromapure 3 (latest version) and a new EyeOne Display 3 PRO on Radiance Pro 4242. Dim room with minimal other light.

I also did one with my older Chromapure 2 and another meter I bought 4-5 years ago (same brand/model meter from CurtPalme).

v. 3 report (with new meter)
Red & green seem way out and the calibration seems to have done nothing to alter them? I tried remeasuring just those colours with an error over 2, but each time I measured the results varied wildly. Pics attached.

v. 2 report (with old meter)
Greyscale is worse after, but it seems better with red & green.



IMG_0280.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  172.81 KB
 Viewed:  2300 Time(s)

IMG_0280.JPG



IMG_0281.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  144.76 KB
 Viewed:  2300 Time(s)

IMG_0281.JPG



IMG_0282.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  138.41 KB
 Viewed:  2300 Time(s)

IMG_0282.JPG



IMG_0283.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  146.72 KB
 Viewed:  2300 Time(s)

IMG_0283.JPG



wfdTamarCalibration2c.png
 Description:
2c
 Filesize:  263.8 KB
 Viewed:  2300 Time(s)

wfdTamarCalibration2c.png



wfdTamarCalibration2a.pdf
 Description:
2a

Download
 Filename:  wfdTamarCalibration2a.pdf
 Filesize:  305.39 KB
 Downloaded:  85 Time(s)


wfdTamarCalibration2b.pdf
 Description:
2b

Download
 Filename:  wfdTamarCalibration2b.pdf
 Filesize:  152.85 KB
 Downloaded:  92 Time(s)


wfdTamarCalibration2d.pdf
 Description:
2d

Download
 Filename:  wfdTamarCalibration2d.pdf
 Filesize:  101.61 KB
 Downloaded:  93 Time(s)


wfdTamar3a cal.pdf
 Description:
3a

Download
 Filename:  wfdTamar3a cal.pdf
 Filesize:  447.28 KB
 Downloaded:  85 Time(s)


wfdTamar3b cal.pdf
 Description:
3b

Download
 Filename:  wfdTamar3b cal.pdf
 Filesize:  478.43 KB
 Downloaded:  92 Time(s)

Back to top
TomHuffman



Joined: 01 Jun 2010
Posts: 71
Location: Springfield, MO


PostLink    Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please contact ChromaPure support. I will need more information than these screenshots.
1. Ensure that Color Intensity is set to 100%.
2. Run a SDR709 calibration and then export the log file and send to support@chromapure.com along with a calibration report from the Quick Report button in auto-cal.

"Red & green seem way out and the calibration seems to have done nothing to alter them?" The screenshot you posted of the CIE chart shows red and green being altered quite substantially.

_________________
ChromaPure calibration software & meter packages at CurtPalme.com discounted prices!
Back to top
wfdTamar



Joined: 31 Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Location: Tasmania, Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks Tom. That CIE chart is from the v. 2 calibration. It's the v.3 calibration that seems not to have changed red & green (see pic below).

How do you export the log file? Ah, found it, a button, top right of the window.

Questions pre calibration-
On the TV's preset Picture modes I have the choice (among others) between:

THX Cinema - saturation is within limits, but there is are no white point controls (the Advanced section is not available in THX).
Professional - saturation is outside limits, but it has full white point control (RGB gain and cutoff sliders).

1. I used Professional thinking that if I set the white point as close as possible to perfect, the calibration would fix the saturation errors. Was that the correct choice?

2. Application settings - Gamma. Since I have an OLED that does absolute black and 1000 nits could Black level be 0 and White level higher? (I don't really understand what that setting controls).



Screenshot 2018-02-12 09.25.30.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  290.68 KB
 Viewed:  2293 Time(s)

Screenshot 2018-02-12 09.25.30.png


Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> ChromaPure Products All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum