Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

CRT Monitor raster too bright even at 0

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Direct View Televisions and Monitors
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jeremy112




Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 2643
Location: Fond du Lac, WI


PostLink    Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 3:15 pm    Post subject: CRT Monitor raster too bright even at 0 Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
I have a 17" CRT monitor here that works great except it's raster is showing at brightness level 0, blacks look like a dark gray at best, more gray....

Whats the possible cause/possible fix to this? I've seen it happen on monitors before but never my own. Any advice appreciated Smile

_________________
When I'm asking for a Model number, that doesn't mean I'm asking for a nude photo with your number on it Wink
Back to top
jbltecnicspro




Joined: 23 Apr 2016
Posts: 506



PostLink    Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

G2 level too high. Is it a trinitron?
Back to top
Jeremy112




Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 2643
Location: Fond du Lac, WI


PostLink    Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jbltecnicspro wrote:
G2 level too high. Is it a trinitron?


Nope, its actually a Dell 17" CRT based off the Philips 107B10 chassis, I couldn't get the SM without paying $20 (which is a bit ridiculous for a monitor thats worth hardly that).

But you were right, I also suspected the G2 was too high, so I adjusted it and it worked like a charm. I let it warm up for an hour first before making the adjustments, but all seems good to go!

Thanks for the reply jbl, appreciate it Very Happy

_________________
When I'm asking for a Model number, that doesn't mean I'm asking for a nude photo with your number on it Wink
Back to top
jbltecnicspro




Joined: 23 Apr 2016
Posts: 506



PostLink    Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem! I was hoping it wasn't a Trinitron actually. Very Happy Most of them need a stupid 4-pin TTL connector and proprietary software (running Windows XP or lower, preferably) to adjust! Asinine, isn't it? Smile Glad it was a Philips.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Direct View Televisions and Monitors All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum