Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

Which model old Quadro card 2 get to play with blending 1080
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24827
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
hal wrote:
AnalogRocks, any updates?


I found 2 motherboards locally and both had bad caps. We tried replacing but got a no boot situation.

I may have to bite the bullet and grab a "new" motherboard and processor to gt this back going again.

Once again though. Does and body have a Socket 939 AMD MiniATX motherboard laying around? TIA guys...

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
winny



Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 363
Location: Sweden

TV/Projector: BD808s, BG1209/2


PostLink    Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:
Once again though. Does and body have a Socket 939 AMD MiniATX motherboard laying around? TIA guys...


Yes, with bad caps Sad
Socket 939 seems to be the era of bad caps from the stolen Nichicon-recipe-scandal.

_________________
Melifluonze wrote:
Digital is easy. This is torture, but far more interesting...
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24827
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

winny wrote:
AnalogRocks wrote:
Once again though. Does and body have a Socket 939 AMD MiniATX motherboard laying around? TIA guys...


Yes, with bad caps Sad
Socket 939 seems to be the era of bad caps from the stolen Nichicon-recipe-scandal.


Yes it was prime time for that bad cap scandal. 2002-2006-7

Funny all the stuff I built in 1999 for Y2K upgrade still runs great. The upgrades I built from those PC's from 2004 to 2007, some have failed. Video cards, power supplies, mother boards and hard drives. All cap related.

I had a power supply blow up and take out my OC'd 300MHz Celeron that I use to run at 503MHz for a few hours or 450MHz stable. I miss that system. Win95 gaming box.

Also have my IBM Pentium pro system at the office. c. 1996, bought 3 of them in 2000 used, and still have two. That one runs fine, Win95 still running. Stable. No issues. The other I kept as a spare but never needed to put it into service because the first was so reliable.

I wish all the manufactures had good caps. I love keeping my stuff for years and years.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
winny



Joined: 09 Oct 2013
Posts: 363
Location: Sweden

TV/Projector: BD808s, BG1209/2


PostLink    Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnalogRocks wrote:

Yes it was prime time for that bad cap scandal. 2002-2006-7

Funny all the stuff I built in 1999 for Y2K upgrade still runs great. The upgrades I built from those PC's from 2004 to 2007, some have failed. Video cards, power supplies, mother boards and hard drives. All cap related.

I had a power supply blow up and take out my OC'd 300MHz Celeron that I use to run at 503MHz for a few hours or 450MHz stable. I miss that system. Win95 gaming box.

Also have my IBM Pentium pro system at the office. c. 1996, bought 3 of them in 2000 used, and still have two. That one runs fine, Win95 still running. Stable. No issues. The other I kept as a spare but never needed to put it into service because the first was so reliable.

I wish all the manufactures had good caps. I love keeping my stuff for years and years.


Good times! Install Quake, Red Alert and party like it was 1999!

_________________
Melifluonze wrote:
Digital is easy. This is torture, but far more interesting...
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24827
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

winny wrote:
AnalogRocks wrote:

Yes it was prime time for that bad cap scandal. 2002-2006-7

Funny all the stuff I built in 1999 for Y2K upgrade still runs great. The upgrades I built from those PC's from 2004 to 2007, some have failed. Video cards, power supplies, mother boards and hard drives. All cap related.

I had a power supply blow up and take out my OC'd 300MHz Celeron that I use to run at 503MHz for a few hours or 450MHz stable. I miss that system. Win95 gaming box.

Also have my IBM Pentium pro system at the office. c. 1996, bought 3 of them in 2000 used, and still have two. That one runs fine, Win95 still running. Stable. No issues. The other I kept as a spare but never needed to put it into service because the first was so reliable.

I wish all the manufactures had good caps. I love keeping my stuff for years and years.


Good times! Install Quake, Red Alert and party like it was 1999!


Quake 3 Excessive!!

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
hal



Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 100



PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to purchase a Quadro FX5600 card shipped for less than $52.00

•Internal 400 MHz DAC drives one analog display up to 2048x1536 @ 75Hz
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24827
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hal wrote:
I was able to purchase a Quadro FX5600 card shipped for less than $52.00

•Internal 400 MHz DAC drives one analog display up to 2048x1536 @ 75Hz


Excellent!

I have a message in on ebay for a guy; asking about a socket 939 motherboard.

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24827
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ended up buying a MSI MS-7207 socket 939 MB for $30 US. Says working tested with CPU and RAM. Hope so. We'll see.
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum