Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

NEC XG digital input card?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Video Processors, Converters, Switchers, Cables
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:19 pm    Post subject: NEC XG digital input card? Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
OK, I've seen Curt's page on this, but it looks like I missed the boat back in 20012/13. Anyone on here actually use one on their XG and have feedback?

_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
gjaky



Joined: 05 Jun 2010
Posts: 2636
Location: Budapest, Hungary


PostLink    Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a 1st gen. moome card (DVI+component), I only briefly tested that (it just came with the pj). But what I read about them is they are working fine, the only downside is that the XGs are picky for input timings so if you pair the XG with a standard BRay player you'll most likely get the sides of the picture cropped (~20%).

This is why you most likely need a scaler if you plan to use discrete source components, but some lumagen scalers already have analog outputs too. The other way is the HTPC way which also don't require a HDMI input card.

I'd say the moome card is only must if you just want to plug and play -bnut that would mean 1080p-60Hz which is only acceptable to viewing CATV or Dish.

As you see either way with a scaler or HTPC the HDMI card is not a must, using a one of these also bring the oportunity to send proper resolutions for the projector, like 1080p-72Hz. I myself prefer the 1080i-96Hz which is not stressing the projector at all still gives good motion flow and virtually flickerless on the screen.
If you decide to set that XG up, I gladly share my 1080i-96HZ timings -if you are interested- I also use an XG135 LC.

_________________
projectors in the past : NEC 6-9PG xtra, Electrohome Marquee 6-7500, NEC XG 1351 LC ( with super modified Electrohome VNB neckboard !!!)
current: VDC Marquee 9500LC
The MOD: VNB-DB
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
jask



Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 8836
Location: kamloops BC


PostLink    Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would be interested in those as well, please post or PM the information.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's photo album (4 photos)
gjaky



Joined: 05 Jun 2010
Posts: 2636
Location: Budapest, Hungary


PostLink    Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure thing. I just cropped the details of the Custom resolution utility.
1080i-96Hz on a NEC XG-1351.



1080i-96-CRU.PNG
 Description:
1080i 96Hz for NEC XG
 Filesize:  18.02 KB
 Viewed:  2686 Time(s)

1080i-96-CRU.PNG



_________________
projectors in the past : NEC 6-9PG xtra, Electrohome Marquee 6-7500, NEC XG 1351 LC ( with super modified Electrohome VNB neckboard !!!)
current: VDC Marquee 9500LC
The MOD: VNB-DB
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
Jeremy112



Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 2643
Location: Fond du Lac, WI


PostLink    Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 6:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've actually been thinking about setting my XG110AC up again just to enjoy some of that sweet CRT'ness that I miss on the big screen (digital is great, but I can't resist the analog!). So its nice to see a thread on this, since I have the DVI + component card and actually rarely used it (mostly due to not having any way to properly set the timings until I got a video processor)

Mine didn't like to cooperate much, but again I suspect that is a fault of how I was running things. Glad I still have it since I doubt I'll ever come across the HDMI card (or use it!)

_________________
When I'm asking for a Model number, that doesn't mean I'm asking for a nude photo with your number on it Wink
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Video Processors, Converters, Switchers, Cables All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum