Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

ColourHCFR doesn't see my i1 Display meter.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Audio & Video Calibration
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pm



Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 84
Location: Hants UK


PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 22, 2014 11:22 am    Post subject: ColourHCFR doesn't see my i1 Display meter. Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
As per the title, even though I definitely have the onedisplay DLL and the colourHCFR exe file in the same directly.

I believe the meter is supported and it works OK with its own software. Am i missing something else?

Any help gratefully received please!

Cheers,

Paul
Back to top
pm



Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 84
Location: Hants UK


PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody???

Puleese?
Back to top
stridsvognen
Guest







PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is it this meter.?

http://www.xrite.com/i1display-pro


Then i have it working with the latest HCFR.. Plug and play on my laptop, no messing around.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/hcfr/
Back to top
pm



Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 84
Location: Hants UK


PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for replying. ...

No, it's the original i1 Display. I also have the later i1 Display 2 as well. Neither show up in HCFR.

Did you have to move DLL files around at all?

Cheers,

Paul.
Back to top
Nashou66



Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 16165
Location: West Seneca NY


PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pm wrote:
Thanks for replying. ...

No, it's the original i1 Display. I also have the later i1 Display 2 as well. Neither show up in HCFR.

Did you have to move DLL files around at all?

Cheers,

Paul.



With Those tri stimulus meters they have to be no older than a year and even then they may not be accurate.

It is best to also have a Spectroradiometer like the i1 Pro or Color Munki Spectro ( not the Color munki tri stimulus).

Older used one can be found for as little as a couple hundred dollars on ebay. And that is cheap compared to 1200 new!!! Also they hardly ever drift so you can profile your i1D to the i1 Pro and use it as they are faster than spectro's.

Athansios

_________________
Don't blame your underwear for your crooked ass~ unknown Greek philosopher


"Republicans believe every day is the Fourth of July, but the Democrats believe every day is April 15." --- President Reagan

One Smart Dog!!!

Marquee High Performance Bellows now shipping!!
Marquee Modifications and Performance Enhancement
Marquee C-element and Bellow removal
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
stridsvognen
Guest







PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pm wrote:
Thanks for replying. ...

No, it's the original i1 Display. I also have the later i1 Display 2 as well. Neither show up in HCFR.

Did you have to move DLL files around at all?

Cheers,

Paul.


No dont move any files anywhere, i had to do that with the original HCFT and the spyder probes.
Back to top
pm



Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 84
Location: Hants UK


PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info guys,

Though I still don't know why HCFR cannot see my i1 Display !!

I took on board previous comments about these cheaper ones drifting quickly to the point of uselessness. I think that's what happened with my original Display meter.

I took a gamble on a newer Display2 and that seems to be giving me sensible(?)results.

It shows up OK in X-Rite software and in the free CalMAN Studio Colorchecker software, so why not HCFR??

Arghhhhh!!!!
Back to top
pm



Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 84
Location: Hants UK


PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:46 pm    Post subject: Answered my own question.... Reply with quote

Sorted now...

Found the answer in the wiki for the program....

It was slightly more involved than dropping a DLL in the right directory, but still quite simple when led by the hand!

A more expensive meter sounds like the ideal candidate for a group buy when you have enough enthusiasts needing one in a given area.... I suppose there's not enough peeps interested these days though.... hey ho..

Paul
Back to top
Arcsaber



Joined: 15 Apr 2015
Posts: 16



PostLink    Posted: Tue May 05, 2015 3:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Answered my own question.... Reply with quote

pm wrote:
Sorted now...

Found the answer in the wiki for the program....

It was slightly more involved than dropping a DLL in the right directory, but still quite simple when led by the hand!

A more expensive meter sounds like the ideal candidate for a group buy when you have enough enthusiasts needing one in a given area.... I suppose there's not enough peeps interested these days though.... hey ho..

Paul


For those who can't be bothered with the wiki, here is the procedure (which I just tried successfully):

1. With the i1 connected, uninstall it and delete the drivers - this is important, because if you don't, the next time the i1 is plugged in it might revert to the older drivers.

2. Install the latest HCFR version (3.2.2 as of writing).

3. Plug the i1 in and point the OS to the "HCFR Calibration/Drivers" folder for the drivers.

The i1 should now work with the latest HCFR.

My i1 is now listed as "GreytagMacBeth i1 Display 2" in HCFR, rather than simply "Eye-One", and appears as an Argyll device in Windows, rather than X-Rite.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Audio & Video Calibration All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum