Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!


Onboard HDMI Issue

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AFryia



Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 923
Location: S.E. Michigan VPH-G70Q


PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 5:20 pm    Post subject: Onboard HDMI Issue Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
I have a HTPC with an ASUS P8H67-M Pro CSM mATX motherboard; i3 2100 CPU running the iGPU (Intel HD Graphics 2000).

Recently I've added a HDMI switch. The HTPC is the only device the switch does not see. Even with manual switching it does not see an input from the HTPC. I've tried two switches with no luck.

I've run both DVI and HDMI directly to the PJ (DVI by John H Wman) for years, no issues.

Other than adding a dedicated graphics card what else is there?
Back to top
View user's photo album (33 photos)
ecrabb
Forum Moderator


Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Posts: 15909
Location: Utah

TV/Projector: JVC RS40, Epson 5010


PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Computers can be very flakey if they're booted or woken up without a display attached (which is technically the condition the video interface sees if a different source is selected on the HDMI switch), or even if the display is removed while they're running.

Have you tried cold-booting with your HDMI sink (display) powered on, and with the HDMI switch set to that input?

SC
Back to top
View user's photo album (10 photos)
CIR Engineering



Joined: 25 Aug 2008
Posts: 3886
Location: Chicago USA & Berlin Germany


PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 7:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Onboard HDMI Issue Reply with quote

AFryia wrote:
I have a HTPC with an ASUS P8H67-M Pro CSM mATX motherboard; i3 2100 CPU running the iGPU (Intel HD Graphics 2000).

Recently I've added a HDMI switch. The HTPC is the only device the switch does not see. Even with manual switching it does not see an input from the HTPC. I've tried two switches with no luck.

I've run both DVI and HDMI directly to the PJ (DVI by John H Wman) for years, no issues.

Other than adding a dedicated graphics card what else is there?

If you have access to something like a Quantum Data QD780 or other HDMI analyzer than you could see what if anything the PC is sending. My guess is that is not very helpful though because most people don't have such test equipment laying around.

What switches have you tried? You could try and HDCP stripper as well (look at the $25 striopper thread).

craigr

_________________
JETI Specbos 1211 Spectroradiometer
Photo Research PR-650 Spectroradiometer
Klein K10-A Laboratory Grade Colorimeter
Murideo Fresco SIX-G HDMI 2.x Multimedia Generator
Murideo Fresco SIX-A HDMI 2.x Analyzer
*NEW Light Illusion LightSpace XPT Pro Version 10.x Color Calibration Software
ChromaPure3 Pro Color Calibration Software
Sencore CR7000 CRT Tube Analyzer / Rejuvenater
Audyssey MultEQ Pro Audio Calibration System
Authorized Dealer for Lumagen & just about everything else Wink
www.CIR-Engineering.com - craigr@cir-engineering.com
Phone: 865-405-6892
Back to top
CIR Engineering



Joined: 25 Aug 2008
Posts: 3886
Location: Chicago USA & Berlin Germany


PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ecrabb wrote:
Computers can be very flakey if they're booted or woken up without a display attached (which is technically the condition the video interface sees if a different source is selected on the HDMI switch), or even if the display is removed while they're running.

Have you tried cold-booting with your HDMI sink (display) powered on, and with the HDMI switch set to that input?

SC

Ah, now that's good advice!

craigr

_________________
JETI Specbos 1211 Spectroradiometer
Photo Research PR-650 Spectroradiometer
Klein K10-A Laboratory Grade Colorimeter
Murideo Fresco SIX-G HDMI 2.x Multimedia Generator
Murideo Fresco SIX-A HDMI 2.x Analyzer
*NEW Light Illusion LightSpace XPT Pro Version 10.x Color Calibration Software
ChromaPure3 Pro Color Calibration Software
Sencore CR7000 CRT Tube Analyzer / Rejuvenater
Audyssey MultEQ Pro Audio Calibration System
Authorized Dealer for Lumagen & just about everything else Wink
www.CIR-Engineering.com - craigr@cir-engineering.com
Phone: 865-405-6892
Back to top
the big E



Joined: 20 Apr 2013
Posts: 1919
Location: speedwell Tn.


PostLink    Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ecrabb is right
I have booted machines before sometimes before turning on the display only to get no signal

Some video card software will auto detect some won't

It all depends on the driver software and the make and model of the video card

I have one machine where sometimes the audio will drop if the display is turned off for a period of time rebooting the machine would fix it

I checked for a newer driver and it has fixed the issue(went through the setup in media center to rule it out)

_________________
crt king of black
Back to top
AFryia



Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 923
Location: S.E. Michigan VPH-G70Q


PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just gave up trying to get the onboard HDMI working. I wonder if the port was truly HDMI spec.

Plugged in an old ATI X600 card via DVI presto no problems.

_________________
My Volt Blog
Back to top
View user's photo album (33 photos)
the big E



Joined: 20 Apr 2013
Posts: 1919
Location: speedwell Tn.


PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would say the on board hdmi socket was bad(have seen this happen before)
_________________
crt king of black
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum