Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

HDMI Source to CRT TV with only DVI Input

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Source Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
erikjohn



Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 631
Location: Florida


PostLink    Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:25 pm    Post subject: HDMI Source to CRT TV with only DVI Input Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
What is the best and cheapest solution for this?

_________________
EJ
Back to top
Tom.W



Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 6637



PostLink    Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=monoprice%20hdmi%20to%20dvi%20cable&clk_rvr_id=713621139511&mfe=search
Back to top
ecrabb
Forum Moderator


Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Posts: 15909
Location: Utah

TV/Projector: JVC RS40, Epson 5010


PostLink    Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The cables Tom linked to will probably work fine, provided that A) the DVI input on the TV can handle DVI-D, and B) that the input on the TV is equipped with HDCP. The first is probably true; the second definitely isn't a given. If you can find reference to HDCP in the manual for the TV, you're probably in good shape.

Cheers,
SC
Back to top
View user's photo album (10 photos)
erikjohn



Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 631
Location: Florida


PostLink    Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The TV is a Sony KP-46WT500 and per the service manual the input is listed as DVI-HDTV and is compliant with EIA-861 standard and is not intended for use with personal computers.
_________________
EJ
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24971
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

erikjohn wrote:
The TV is a Sony KP-46WT500 and per the service manual the input is listed as DVI-HDTV and is compliant with EIA-861 standard and is not intended for use with personal computers.


No but you could set the PC to 1080i output OR if it's a lap top with limited video, use a scaler like a VP50.

PC----VP50-----TV

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 24971
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ecrabb wrote:
The cables Tom linked to will probably work fine, provided that A) the DVI input on the TV can handle DVI-D, and B) that the input on the TV is equipped with HDCP. The first is probably true; the second definitely isn't a given. If you can find reference to HDCP in the manual for the TV, you're probably in good shape.

Cheers,
SC


Being 2003 probably not HDCP. That came in in 2005. He could use one of the spliters that we so like here. You can provide the link for that right?

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
erikjohn



Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 631
Location: Florida


PostLink    Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not gong to be connecting a computer just game systems and dvd/blu ray players. I have been using a 2-3 year old Monoprice HDMI switcher that has analog audio out to the dvi input and analog audio in's but with some input sources it seems to have handshake issues. I guess for me the key is I need to switch multiple hdmi so I cannot rely on the single analog audio out of the source as that will not work for switching. I don't want to spend the amount on a switcher that costs 50%-75% of what I can replace the Sony CRT with a LCD for.
_________________
EJ
Back to top
erikjohn



Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 631
Location: Florida


PostLink    Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Possible solution may be the HDF1 Nano GX with a breakout cable to my component video input if there is not a better solution. At the end of the day I can get cheap hdmi switchers that I think will work bette but the hurdle it is getting the audio extracted analog.
_________________
EJ
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Source Devices All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum