Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!


Playing ripped BR's with MPC HC
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
greg_mitch



Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 5321



PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
10+ gig after you ripped or after you converted?

I got two movies right now, one at 20 gig and one at 30gig.
Back to top
Zebu Fellenz



Joined: 21 Dec 2006
Posts: 2567



PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

10+ gig post conversion to MKV/FLAC.
Back to top
View user's photo album (1 photos)
VideoGrabber



Joined: 09 Apr 2006
Posts: 933
Location: Michigan


PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MAW wrote:
> Yes, sharpening or noise reduction, on Bluray. <

Interesting comment, Mark. I wouldn't think either would be necessary for BR.

Greg asked:
> What do you use to convert to MKV? <

My question would be why? I..e, what's the advantage?

_________________
- Tim
Back to top
greg_mitch



Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 5321



PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VideoGrabber wrote:
MAW wrote:
> Yes, sharpening or noise reduction, on Bluray. <

Interesting comment, Mark. I wouldn't think either would be necessary for BR.

Greg asked:
> What do you use to convert to MKV? <

My question would be why? I..e, what's the advantage?


The last one has already been answered. Storage space. If you can compress with negligible loss in quality, why not. Save space = save money.
Back to top
VideoGrabber



Joined: 09 Apr 2006
Posts: 933
Location: Michigan


PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Greg. I didn't realize that was an answer. I thought it was a question.
_________________
- Tim
Back to top
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd guess it would depend on the original codec used in the compression (e.g. MPEG-2 vs anything modern).
_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
greg_mitch



Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 5321



PostLink    Posted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally got around to installing the new "My Movies 2.5" for media center and found a pleasant surprise.

It has some integrated support for ripping BR and HD DVD and seems it can play ISO's and native BR file structure in Media center.

http://www.mymovies.dk/downloads.aspx

Back to top
greg_mitch



Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 5321



PostLink    Posted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 5:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dang..right as I am about to pay $90 for AnyDVD HD I do one last search for DVD43 to see if they have an HD option yet and I find DVDfab HD Decrypter which is FREE!

Downloading now to see if it works. To be continued.
Back to top
greg_mitch



Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 5321



PostLink    Posted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't get the MyMovies to play the BR file structure inside media center, but when I try to play it with WMP11 it works fine. I think I am getting hung up on the configuation somewhere.

Restarting now to try DVDfab HD.
Back to top
greg_mitch



Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 5321



PostLink    Posted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Double damn...DVDFab officially doesn't support HD DVD and BR. I can't even get it to recognize "the bucket list" or "indian Jones".

Oh well. Need to probably hop on the AnyDVD HD bandwagon before the new years to get lifetime updates for free.
Back to top
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, I doubt Microsoft would actively support you being able to play ripped HD DVD or BD content, whether in file structure or ISO. Just doesn't seem like something M$ would make **positive** effort on.
_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
greg_mitch



Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 5321



PostLink    Posted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somehow I can get the audio to play but not the video.

If we can use FFDShow to get WMP11 to play it, I don't see why VMC can't play it. I would imagine video played inside of VMC just opens up WMP11 in the background to play it.
Back to top
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

greg_mitch wrote:
Mark_A_W wrote:
eac3to.exe

It's on Doom9 too.


Holy crap. Now we are getting complicated again.

Does a MKV with FLAC reduce the file size considerably? I think Assassination of Jesse James is about 20Gigs so would it be reduced with this method?

Maybe I will back off again, until someone integrates this all into a package like DVDShrink.



FLAC is just transcoding the audio from lossless TrueHD/DTS MA to lossless FLAC. Kinda like unzipping a winzip file and then compressing it with Winrar. The size is about the same.

But converting a LOSSY audio track, like E-AC3/DTS/AC3, to FLAC will make a BIGGER file.


With EAC3TO the video is simple remuxed into the mkv "container" completely untouched. I do not recompress, and eac3to does not do that anyway.


So there is no loss in quality whatsover with a FLAC mkv file from EAC3TO.


Movies are ~15-35gb or so. I am religiously opposed to compressing them in anyway. Space is cheap....and it takes HOURS and HOURS.



And yes, I've found a little sharpening can make BD look better on my system. I've got the horsepower, it's kinda fun fiddling around with the filters in ffdshow.

CPU are scary fast these days - my Q6600 Quad core overclocked from 2.4 to 3.0 Ghz is really impressive. But it is kinda bemusing the way many day-to-day overhead tasks on a PC never seem to get much faster.



You need Anydvd HD, eac3to.exe and mkvmerge. Playback with MPC-HC, using the MadFLAC decoder and ffdshow for VC-1 and CoreAVC or ffdshow for AVC. Do not use ffdshow audio for FLAC as it downconverts to 16 bit (but it's ok for TrueHD etc, it's a FLAC issue).

Use the Haali Renderer, included in the Haali Splitter. Set it to retain video levels by picking TV 0-255 as the output mode (it's counter intuitive).

If you want to get really complicated I can help you set it up with Reclock and Kernel Streaming. Reclock is the key to smooth playback, and Kernel Streaming sounds good.

(But to get Kernel Streaming to work for 24bit material you need to get ffdshow audio to load AFTER MadFLAC in the playback chain, and set ffdshow audio to accept uncompressed material and ONLY output in 32 bit integer...fun fun fun)
Back to top
Elaine Benes



Joined: 25 Apr 2006
Posts: 1414



PostLink    Posted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you tell me what settings to adjust/change in ffdshow to get smooth playback using it ?

I can get it to work, but "Twister" won't play smoothly, which is unfortunate, the image is quite a bit better than using Pdvd...

Or is it ReClock that I need to be changing ?
Back to top
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VideoGrabber wrote:
MAW wrote:
> Yes, sharpening or noise reduction, on Bluray. <

Interesting comment, Mark. I wouldn't think either would be necessary for BR.

Greg asked:
> What do you use to convert to MKV? <

My question would be why? I..e, what's the advantage?





Well, on my system a little sharpening helps. It's not essential but it does help.




And the advantage of converting to MKV with FLAC audio is they are easy to playback. Unlike the original discs/original formats. You save size due to removal of extra features. I do not compress the video or the audio - the FLAC conversion is lossless.
Back to top
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Elaine Benes wrote:
Can you tell me what settings to adjust/change in ffdshow to get smooth playback using it ?

I can get it to work, but "Twister" won't play smoothly, which is unfortunate, the image is quite a bit better than using Pdvd...

Or is it ReClock that I need to be changing ?




Need more info.


What are you watching? VC-1? A MKV file? The disc?


What are you watching with? Software? Hardware?
Back to top
greg_mitch



Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 5321



PostLink    Posted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I bit...right before new years I decided to pony up and get anydvd hd.

So at least I have updates for life for free instead of getting nickel and dimed to death.

With my luck a completely free solution will arrive in a few months.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum