Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!


Catalyst Control Center settings for CRT?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Murillo



Joined: 30 Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Location: Sweden


PostLink    Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 1:35 pm    Post subject: Catalyst Control Center settings for CRT? Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Hello

Last night I installed the CCC (Catalyst Control Center) version 8.9 for my ATI 3450 GC, and started to play around. At first my image improved. But after a while (when I played too much with the settings) it started to look really crappy and I removed it. The picture became too synthetic looking. There was specifically one setting, that I don`t remember now, but it made the depth of the image look really great. This is the first time I used the CCC, and I think that I overdone it a bit. Earlier I only installed the display drivers and did some minor settings from Windvd, like deinterlace.


I would appreciate if someone here would like to share your CCC settings and maybe explain wich settings are good to do and wich a CRT:er should stay away from.

Best regards.
Back to top
Murillo



Joined: 30 Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Location: Sweden


PostLink    Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there really not someone here that could give some useful tips about CCC?
Back to top
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CCC is of no use whatsover.

I'm a bit lost as to what you are trying to achieve...
Back to top
Murillo



Joined: 30 Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Location: Sweden


PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark_A_W wrote:
CCC is of no use whatsover.

I'm a bit lost as to what you are trying to achieve...


When I played around with CCC, I noticed that the image improved. It became moore deep somehow, moore 3D. One problem was that the CPU started to work really hard and my MKV flow did not flow anymore, but the image clearly improved. My dvd movies did not have any problems with the flow. The thing is that I donīt remember what I did and what settings I made, and have a problem finding the settings again. So that is why I asked if somebody else uses the CCC.

Do you have any suggestions?
Back to top
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What playback software are you using?
Back to top
Murillo



Joined: 30 Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Location: Sweden


PostLink    Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark_A_W wrote:
What playback software are you using?


Core Media Player and Windvd.
Back to top
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All I would do is boost Gamma a bit.
Back to top
Murillo



Joined: 30 Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Location: Sweden


PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark_A_W wrote:
All I would do is boost Gamma a bit.


I tried that, but it goes from 1.20 (which is to dark) to 1.45 (which is to bright). Is there a way to set it somewere between?
Back to top
Mark_A_W



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3068
Location: Sunny Melbourne Australia


PostLink    Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any number of ways.

Powerstrip is one (but only use a linear ramp or you will get banding).

Video Equalizer is another.

But not if your application uses Overlay,
Back to top
Murillo



Joined: 30 Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Location: Sweden


PostLink    Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark_A_W wrote:
Any number of ways.

Powerstrip is one (but only use a linear ramp or you will get banding).

Video Equalizer is another.

But not if your application uses Overlay,


Unfortunately it seems that both use overlay. Is there a way to change this? I was thinking of buying the 1020 box for this, but it would be better if it could be done with the software.
Back to top
perisoft



Joined: 29 Aug 2007
Posts: 2920
Location: Ithaca, NY


PostLink    Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using video driver gimmicks to enhance movies is like painting black outlines around edges in the Mona Lisa to give it some more pop.

Anyway, if it really improves the image to screw with that stuff, you've probably got something broken elsewhere in the video chain, so you're better off finding and fixing that than trying to re-find a kludge fix from the satanic swill that is video-driver image enhancement.

_________________
Back to top
David_Web



Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 418
Location: Sweden


PostLink    Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use analogue out you won't loose any quality (or very little).
Provided you stick with gamma or similar adjustments.
Still it's not a lot you can use CCC for.
Not even gamma is that useful as you probably needs non linear adjustments anyway.

Powerstrip has some bad errors when it comes to it's gamma ramps and is NOT recommended.
I have not tested the latest version to see if it it solved though.

Any settings should not cause your CPU to go up notably, if at all.

_________________
SNR of people are ridiculously low.
Back to top
Murillo



Joined: 30 Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Location: Sweden


PostLink    Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK if I understand this correctly the CCC will not improve my image at all and it dosenīt affect the CPU.

Is it possible that I somehow activated ffdshow when I was playing around with the CCC? I used it to watch MKV files using ffdshow but since it didnīt flow very well (maybe beacuse my CPU is to weak) I installed coreavc. The movies plays really smooth with coreavc but I think that the imagequality itself was better with ffdshow.

When I reinstalled the CCC I removed the ffdshow and now I canīt seem to find the setting that I liked som much.

So would you guys recomend me to remove CCC, and get a faster CPU so I can use ffdshow for MKV files, and in the future to stay away from all image enhancements?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum