Return to the CurtPalme.com main site CurtPalme.com Home Theater Forum
A forum with a sense of fun and community for Home Theater enthusiasts!
Products for Sale ] [ FAQ: Hooking it all up ] [ CRT Primer/FAQ ] [ Best/Worst CRT Projectors List ] [ Setup Tips & Manuals ] [ Advanced Procedures ] [ Newsletters ]

 
Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist  Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums  RegisterRegister 
 MembershipClub Membership   ProfileProfile   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in 
Blu-ray disc release list and must-have titles. Buy the latest and best Blu-ray titles to show off in your home theater!

When two cores isn't enough

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:03 am    Post subject: When two cores isn't enough Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
You go with Intel's dual quad-core setup for gaming, and maybe a little HTPC-ing, too:



Skulltrail.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  28.19 KB
 Viewed:  5605 Time(s)

Skulltrail.jpg



_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
overclkr



Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 4227



PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that is pretty sick. Things are starting to get really interesting again in hardware.

The only problem is I don't think there is a single consumer app that will take advantage of 8 cores?

Cliffy
Back to top
JustGreg



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 3098
Location: Kenosha, WI


PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:52 pm    Post subject: Re: When two cores isn't enough Reply with quote

WanMan wrote:
You go with Intel's dual quad-core setup for gaming, and maybe a little HTPC-ing, too:

Do you have a link to that board?

_________________
Greg

"Is it ignorance or apathy? Hey, I don't know and I don't care!" --Jimmy Buffett
Back to top
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Needs more PCie 16x slots.
_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 2:09 am    Post subject: Re: When two cores isn't enough Reply with quote

JustGreg wrote:
WanMan wrote:
You go with Intel's dual quad-core setup for gaming, and maybe a little HTPC-ing, too:

Do you have a link to that board?
Well, I read an article over at Ars Technica http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20080204-intel-takes-wraps-off-high-performance-skulltrail-platform.html

From there there are several other links at the bottom.

_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 15782
Location: Ottawa, Canada

TV/Projector: JVC DLA-RS56


PostLink    Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dual quad core? Wow.

I have a single quad core now on our 'main' computer and nothing really uses that from what I understand.

Kal

_________________

Support our site by using our affiliate links. We thank you!
My basement/HT/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
MikeEby



Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 5236
Location: Osceola, Indiana


PostLink    Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kal wrote:
Dual quad core? Wow.

I have a single quad core now on our 'main' computer and nothing really uses that from what I understand.

Kal


I know that some of the NLE software does Vegas comes to mind. Think XP pro only supports 2 cores, 64 bit version maybe more. Vista has intellegent switching that at least appears to work. When you look at CPU usage plots they do not track on top of each other. You can also set the "processor affinity" in task manager I not sure how effective that is.

Mike

_________________
Doing HD since the last century!
Back to top
jask



Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 8842
Location: kamloops BC


PostLink    Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That could be the heart of a real home media system,simultaneous multi user, multi app. remote dumb terminals, whole house systems...sexy, VERY sexy.
Back to top
View user's photo album (4 photos)
AnalogRocks
Forum Moderator


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 25451
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

TV/Projector: Sony 1252Q, AMPRO 4000G


PostLink    Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jask wrote:
That could be the heart of a real home media system,simultaneous multi user, multi app. remote dumb terminals, whole house systems...sexy, VERY sexy.


Wipe up that puddle of drool Jask Wink

_________________
Tech support for nothing

CRT.

HD done right!
Back to top
View user's photo album (27 photos)
jask



Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 8842
Location: kamloops BC


PostLink    Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am licking my monitor right now....oops,that was John's latest avatar


MMmmm tasty
Back to top
View user's photo album (4 photos)
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think something similar to this motherboard must exist in order for Apple to utilize the twin quad-core setup in their junk.
_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
MikeEby



Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 5236
Location: Osceola, Indiana


PostLink    Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WanMan wrote:
I think something similar to this motherboard must exist in order for Apple to utilize the twin quad-core setup in their junk.


Good point...I bet you are right. It kind of seems excessive right now unless you into big-time number crunching, maybe encoding video. Even then the software will have to be smart enough to figure out who's doing what. Disk IO is real bottleneck, I put together a machine with a flash hard dive. It was used to fly at 25K ft. in a non-pressurized cabin, a standard mechanical hard drive won't work in that thin of air. I was expecting it to scoot...it really wasn't much faster than a regular hard drive in fact I think it was slower writing.


Mike

_________________
Doing HD since the last century!
Back to top
Marcel_D



Joined: 22 Sep 2007
Posts: 54
Location: Canada


PostLink    Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought about getting that for my next upgrade, but once you look into it you see that 8 cores is currently overkill. I'm not sure if there are any consumer applications or games that support that many.
Back to top
View user's photo album (3 photos)
WanMan



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 10261



PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And with all those cores you'll need some storage. When you decide to buy a case of 1TB drives make sure you buy a couple of these puppies to control them:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816151004

Yeah, 24 SATA2 connections. Jesus. Thumbs Up

http://c1.neweggimages.com/NeweggImage/productimage/16-151-004-05.jpg

_________________
Trust no one. Absolutely no one. Advice of the board.
Back to top
MikeEby



Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 5236
Location: Osceola, Indiana


PostLink    Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WanMan wrote:
And with all those cores you'll need some storage. When you decide to buy a case of 1TB drives make sure you buy a couple of these puppies to control them:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816151004

Yeah, 24 SATA2 connections. Jesus. Thumbs Up

http://c1.neweggimages.com/NeweggImage/productimage/16-151-004-05.jpg


and perhaps a 2KW Power Supply

http://legitreviews.com/article/436/1/


Mike

_________________
Doing HD since the last century!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    CurtPalme.com Forum Index -> Home Theater PCs All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum